A Simple Running Log

December 10, 2014

Training for 12/10/14

Filed under: Uncategorized — aschmid3 @ 4:49 pm

When Clark decided to train for the Rehoboth half marathon, he followed a Hal Higdon plan that included tempo runs. Clark didn’t like that my little Garmin 10 only showed two data fields at a time, meaning he couldn’t see the elapsed time, distance and current pace without scrolling through the screens, so he bought himself a Garmin 220.

Now that the race is over and we’re getting into the time of year when Clark refuses to run because he hates cold weather even more than I do, I have inherited the 220. Today, I took it for a run for the first time.

I really liked it! It’s not much bigger than the 10, if anything it’s lighter and the screen is very clear and easy to read.

photo (2)

10 on the left, 220 on the right.

Of course, Clark had to get the black and red one. Ew, BOY COLORS. Just kidding. I kinda like it better than the white and purple one.

It has a lot more functions than mine, but I’ll probably just use it for tracking runs. Anyway, Pepper and I did 5.5 miles in 46:20, an 8:25/mile average. It was cold and windy, but the route we took only put us head-on into the wind for about a half-mile.

Also, today JB posted some pictures from the weekend. As always, he got some great ones!

Me drinking a Bud 10, with Misti and Nate peering over my shoulders. Apparently I told everyone about the exhaustively-researched paper on Bud 10s I wrote for a journalism class.

Drinking a Bud 10, with Misti and Nate peering over my shoulders. Apparently I told everyone about the exhaustively-researched paper on Bud 10s I wrote for a journalism class.

When I saw JB and Corc right after my first bathroom stop and I yelled "I already had to use the bathrooooom!" at them.

When I saw JB and Corc right after my first bathroom stop and I yelled “I already had to use the bathrooooom!” at them.

Singing the Spice Girls at the Purple Parrot.

Singing the Spice Girls at the Purple Parrot.

And what has to be my favorite picture of the weekend:

Clark and me at the Purple Parrot.

Clark and me at the Purple Parrot.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

