A Simple Running Log

November 24, 2014

Training for 11/24/14

Filed under: Uncategorized — aschmid3 @ 5:40 pm

I had a pretty quiet weekend.

Saturday, we spent the first part of the day doing a little much-needed car maintenance. I’d gotten my car’s brakes replaced the day before and asked the mechanic to look at why my car idles so rough when I start it on a cold day, like the ones we were having last week. He said everything looked solid and his best guess was the spark plugs, which were original. So I bought some new ones and Clark and I swapped them out Saturday morning. It didn’t seem to do anything for the idle when I started it, but at least I’d only wasted $27 on parts instead of the $130 in parts and labor the mechanic wanted to do the job while he was changing the brakes. Oh well. Guess I’ll just have to put up with the rough idle. It only happens first thing in the morning when it’s really cold and it sounds fine once it’s been driven about five minutes. Apparently it’s nothing to worry about. It’s just annoying.

Anyway, Clark also changed the oil in my car and the Crown Vic, while I checked tire pressures on everything but the Harley and the Camaro. I think everything is roadworthy again.

That afternoon, I ran a lap around the 4.5-mile loop with Clark and Pepper. When we got back home, I wanted to run about another mile, since I’d had a 5-miler on the schedule, so I went back out. The sun was very low in the sky, and right behind me. I just happened to be running down the road past my neighbor’s mailbox the same moment the mail carrier came along. I guess he didn’t see me because of the sun, because I nearly got clipped by the damn mail truck! I heard him call out “Didn’t see you there!” in a sing-song voice as he swerved to miss me while I jumped off the road into the grass haha.

Sunday, Clark left very early to go to Annapolis to help his brother work on the house he and his wife just bought to fix up. I kept meaning to put Pepper in his harness and make him run the 10.5-mile loop with me, but, guess what, I didn’t. I really don’t have as much time to put off running anymore now that the days are getting so short! By the time we finally left the house, we had about enough daylight left for the 4.5-mile loop. It was a pretty good run. It’d warmed up enough I could wear shorts, and Pepper didn’t need his dork jacket.

Today, I did the 3-miler and strength training on the schedule. It had warmed up even more, to almost 70, so I could wear short sleeves with my shorts! It was extremely windy, but I wasn’t complaining.

I had planned on finally doing that 10-miler tomorrow, as the usual Tuesday morning meeting is held at night the last week of the month, but now I have to be in Denton at 8:30 a.m. to cover something. I haven’t decided what I’m doing now.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

