A Simple Running Log

October 28, 2014

Training for 10/28/14

Filed under: Uncategorized — aschmid3 @ 2:14 pm

Well, I’ve run some miles since the last time I posted. Not as many as I’d planned, but what else is new?

Friday, Pepper and I did our typical easy, untimed lap around the 4.5-mile loop, and when we got home, I did some strength training, ab exercises, push-ups, invisible chair-sitting and lifting with the adjustable dumbbells.

That evening, Clark and I went out to Cambridge, where we met TK and her boyfriend, Parker, for dinner. They left after dinner, but Clark and I went to a brewery for a couple more beers.

The next morning, I did not get up in time to run the 10.5 miles I’d been planning. Well, actually, I did, but I was having more fun lying around and being lazy instead. Finally, it got too late to run much at all before I had to be at a winery outside Vienna for my sister-in-law’s baby shower. I ran 3 miles with Clark and Pepper and called it good.

The baby shower was pretty good. I won a big-ass pumpkin pie-scented Woodwick candle. When the baby shower broke up, I went to a bar in East New Market, where Clark, my brother, my dad and my uncle were celebrating the impending arrival of my brother’s first kid with beer.

When that party broke up, Clark and I went home for a bit, and then went to the Denton pub for dinner. We wound up staying there until the lights came on at 2 a.m. Which is why I did not feel like running at all yesterday!

Instead, I stayed on the couch again and watched the NASCAR race. It was a little disappointing that Jeff Gordon didn’t get the win and therefore an automatic pass to the championship round in Miami, but he did finish second to a non-Chase driver, which means no one got the automatic pass this time and Gordon’s leading the running to advance on points. The main reason it was disappointing was because Clark said he’d buy a vintage Gordon shirt off eBay to wear to the Miami race if he won and guaranteed he’d have a shot at the championship in the last race. Maybe next week!

Speaking of Miami, we got our tickets in the mail yesterday! We bought a three-day race package — tickets to the Truck, Nationwide and Sprint Cup series races that weekend — that also included preferred parking and, best of all, a pass to get down on the track after the race where they’ll be celebrating whoever wins the championship. It’s going to be a pretty awesome weekend.

Also yesterday, I did finally run. I took Pepper out for, you guessed it, 4.5 untimed miles. I also did some abbreviated strength training when I got home.

Today, I had some stuff to do for work this morning, but I’m about to take Pepper out for another run. I think we’ll mix things up and go for the 5.5-mile loop.

The Marshall half marathon is in five days. I don’t have high hopes for a decent finish, honestly. I’ve just been so damn lazy about anything farther than 4 or 5 miles and harder than keeping-up-with-Pepper pace. I’m definitely glad I dropped to the half though. It’s going to be ugly enough; a full marathon would just be brutal.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

