A Simple Running Log

October 13, 2014

Training for 10/13/14

Filed under: Uncategorized — aschmid3 @ 1:58 pm

Saturday morning, I waited way too late to get in the longer run I’d had planned, so I figured I’d hold off on that until Sunday, and just do a quick lap around the 4.5-mile loop. It was raining the whole time, but not too chilly once I’d gotten warmed up. It was a decent run.

That afternoon, Clark and I drove to the beach house in Fenwick and got all dressed up for Ben and Hope’s wedding. Mike and another wedding guest, John, met us at the house and we all rode to the wedding together in the Jeep.

The wedding was at a golf resort in Long Neck. It’d rained much of the day, but had tapered off to just a bit of a mist in time for the ceremony, which was held outside, overlooking a pond.

The reception was held in the ballroom in the clubhouse. Ben’s is the family that owns the farm where I worked for a decade from the summer before my freshman year of high school through college, and there were several former coworkers I hadn’t seen in a long time who I got to catch up with.

My brother also worked for the same family, and one of our former coworkers, Michael, asked Dave if he’d left his hair at home haha. I’m still laughing about that two days later! Poor Dave couldn’t wear a baseball hat with his suit, his preferred method of hiding his extensive hair loss.

This was even funnier because Dave is kind of responsible for turning Michael into a smartass; Michael didn’t say two words the first summer he worked on the farm, other than “Hey Dave!”, but he picked up my brother’s habit of picking on people. Since then, Dave has kind of lost his game, so he had no good comeback for Michael. Another former coworker, Mark, told Dave, “Hey, you created this.”

The reception was a lot of fun, and then a lot of us headed into downtown Rehoboth, where John got a free T-shirt from the Greene Turtle because he’d just gotten knocked the eff out by a woman haha. There’s a lot more to that story, but that’s the bottom line. When the bars closed, the four of us staying at the beach house got breakfast from a 24-hour diner in Rehoboth, and then finally went back to Fenwick.

I’d brought running clothes and my Garmin with me, intending to run that morning when I woke up. I hadn’t gotten drunk the night before, since I’d promised to drive everyone, but I was really tired and didn’t feel like running. Plus, after everyone else woke up, we were having too much fun making fun of John for getting punched haha.

Also, we were watching highlights from the NASCAR race the night before. To me, the biggest highlight was the fact Jimmie stupid Johnson didn’t run well and is 26 points out of eighth place — the cutoff for advancing into the next round — going into Talladega. He pretty much has to win Talladega to move on. I really hope he doesn’t make it! I would hate to go to Miami to watch him win another championship, so if he’s not even still eligible, it would make that whole weekend that much more enjoyable.

Most other people would probably argue the biggest highlight was the big post-race scuffle between Brad Keselowski and Matt Kenseth, or between Keselowski and Denny Hamlin, or when Keselowski ran into Tony Stewart for no apparent reason on pit road after the race and Tony threw his car in reverse and slammed right into the front of Keselowski’s. Should be interesting to see what kind of fine or penalty NASCAR hands down on Keselowski.

Anyway, Mike and John left Fenwick first. Clark and I hung around long enough to wash some sheets and towels, and then we stopped at Papa Grande’s for lunch. By the time we got home, it was almost 2:30 p.m.

We’d planned on going to the Good Beer Festival in Salisbury, but by that point, we’d have gotten there at 3:30 at the earliest and had to pay $35 each when there were only a few hours left before the festival closed. So we stayed home and napped instead.

Today, I’ll do some strength training and a short run.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

