A Simple Running Log

September 12, 2014

Training for 9/12/14

Filed under: Uncategorized — aschmid3 @ 12:12 pm

Yesterday, I again waited until just before sunset to finally go do an easy 3-miler. Simple enough, right?

Had that been my first run ever, I seriously doubt I would ever try it again. Instead, I’d have probably thrown my running shoes in the back of my closet and forgotten the whole business. It was that bad.

I don’t know what the hell I ate yesterday, or the day before, but it was messing with me pretty bad nearly the whole way. I made it to the turnaround at 1.5 miles, and about another mile, with the gut cramps. But then it went beyond gut cramps and escalated into full-scale FIND A BATHROOM NOW mode in about 30 seconds.

Unfortunately for me, it’s harvest time! All my corn fields got mowed down yesterday. So first I had to hack my way into some overgrowth where they cut down a bunch of trees a few years ago. I don’t know how long I was in there, but it felt like a while. I finally emerged and started to make my way home again. By this time, it was nearly dark.

Well wouldn’t you know it, I wasn’t done yet. So, about another quarter-mile down the road (and thus only a quarter-mile from my house, which would have been in plain sight had it not been so close to dark) I had to, for the first time in my life, try to take cover in a soybean field. A freaking soybean field! Luckily, this field had been planted early and is relatively tall for soybean plants, but still. When I was standing up, they only came up to my waist.

The descending darkness helped me here. I was able to crouch down low enough that I was mostly covered, and the fact it was so dark made it hard to see me anyway. I took care of business and started on my way to cover the final quarter-mile home.

I had to walk it though. If I tried to run, I felt like I had to go again immediately. And as soon as I did finally make it home, I had to run for the bathroom.

It was miserable. That last half-mile probably took as long as the first 2.5 miles. I really wish I knew what I ate to cause that, because I’m sure as hell never touching it again.

Today, I had a much more pleasant run, thankfully. It cooled off here quite a bit overnight, so I was able to take Pepper with me for the first time in forever.

He actually seemed to enjoy himself too. He picked up a big stick he’d left near the side steps and carried it the whole way, and he got a treat when we got home. And I didn’t have to use the bathroom once in 4.5 miles.

Tomorrow, I want to do 10 to 12 miles. The surf report is looking OK for late tomorrow afternoon and Sunday morning, so we’re thinking about going down to the beach for that. Other than that, my only plans are to watch the NASCAR race Sunday. The Ravens already crushed the Steelers last night, so I don’t have any particular football games to watch this weekend.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

