A Simple Running Log

September 9, 2014

Training for 9/9/14

Filed under: Uncategorized — aschmid3 @ 2:52 pm

I wonder how many people are celebrating their fifth wedding anniversaries today? I just have a feeling 9/9/09 was a popular wedding day. And since our own anniversary is coming up in 10 days, it made me think of it.

Anyway, yesterday kinda got away from me. I’m sure thousands of readers were crushed when I failed to post. Sorry!

Last Friday night, Clark and I went to the beach house. We met his dad and brother there. The plan was to go surfing in the morning, so I didn’t even bring running clothes. Of course, when we got up Saturday and looked at the surf report, there was absolutely nothing happening out there. So we got out the paddleboards and kayak instead. Chad and I were on the paddleboards, while Clark, his dad and Pepper got in the kayak. We all paddled out to the bay, way down past Harpoon Hanna’s and back.

Pepper looked like he didn’t hate it, but Clark said he’d had his claws all the way out the whole time, trying to grip the plastic kayak, and his nub in a cup holder, trying to grip that too haha.

Clark and I went home that afternoon. No, I didn’t run. It was still super hot and humid. Instead, I laid around on the floor until it was time to go to Mike’s house to watch the NASCAR race.

The race was oddly undramatic. Brad Keselowski led most of it and won from the pole. Ryan Newman and Greg Biffle got the final two Chase spots on points.

Sunday morning, I woke up with a bit of a hangover (I had not just one, but two of my favorite pumpkin beers with me the night before, Dogfish Head Punkin Ale and Schlafly Pumpkin Ale.) So I sat around all morning, watching a 1983 movie called “Eddie and the Cruisers.” Then football came on, so I sat around some more.

When the early games were over, Clark told me to go for a run. Well, it was 4:30 p.m. and I hadn’t even cracked a beer yet, so I really didn’t have an excuse. I got dressed and went outside, thinking it was still as hot and humid as it’d been the day before.

I was wrong! Seems the severe storms the night before had washed away all the humidity! It was an absolutely gorgeous, perfect afternoon for a run. I did 4.5 miles. It was the best run I’ve had in a long time! I was really glad Clark made me go out and do that haha. 

Yesterday, I did strength training in the morning — ab exercises, push-ups, invisible chair-sitting and weights. I was thinking about taking Pepper for a short run after, but then it started pouring. And kept pouring, all afternoon. I never went out myself because that dog’s guilt trips over leaving him alone seem to be working better on me lately (or maybe I just like the excuse better lately.) So I just stayed in and did my work. By the time Clark got home, I didn’t have time left to run and take a shower before I had to meet a group of people for an interview at 8 p.m.

This morning, I got up at 6:15 a.m., fed Pepper a little early and then went out for a run before the county meeting, which has resumed its usual every-Tuesday schedule now that the summer’s over. It turned out to be another decent run. The humidity was back, but not the heat, and it was overcast. I did an easy, untimed 5.5 miles.

Ta-da! That’s all I’ve done since last week.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

