A Simple Running Log

September 4, 2014

Training for 9/4/14

Filed under: Uncategorized — aschmid3 @ 3:44 pm

First of all, I completely forgot about August’s summary at the end of my last post, probably because it was pretty dismal. Anyway, here it is.

Mileage:

  • Week 1 (Aug. 1-2): 0 miles
  • Week 2 (Aug. 3-9): 0
  • Week 3 (Aug. 10-16): 17.7
  • Week 4 (Aug. 17-23): 28.6
  • Week 5 (Aug. 24-31): 10

Total: 56.3 miles

LAME. Sure, my foot was bothering me those first couple of weeks, but what was my excuse at the end of the month?

As far as racing went, I did that little 1-mile walk with Pepper in Dewey and the prediction 5K in Rehoboth, as well as, of course, Hood to Coast.

Looking ahead to September (well, the rest of it, since it’s already Sept. 4), I have zero races planned. In fact, I’m not signed up for another one until the Baltimore marathon relay Oct. 18. This month, I just need to worry about getting my mileage back up to where I’ll be able to pull off the full marathon in Marshall in a couple of months.

It hasn’t gotten off to a very good start haha. I didn’t run or do anything Tuesday. Yesterday, I waited until dusk to finally go out and run. I did two miles as the sun was setting depressingly early. When I got home, I did ab exercises, push-ups and invisible chair-sitting, but didn’t bother with the weights.

Today, I rode my bike out to the Sharptown Bridge, fully intending to do at least four repeats. I was sucking wind on the first one. I’d waited until pretty late in the morning, so it was really hot and humid, and I was not at all into it. Since I was on the wrong side of the bridge after the first one, I had to at least go back up and over it a second time just to get back to my bike, which I then rode home. One mile ran, 10 biked. Way to go.

I don’t know what’s going on. I feel fine, no aches or pains, and I can’t really complain about jet lag anymore. Maybe it’s coming back to this weather? Every time we’ve gone away during the summer to a place with no humidity, even if it’s just for a few days, when we come back, I feel like I’ve never run in this crap before. Or like I just don’t want to do it again. It didn’t help that we had such a relatively mild summer, and it cranked up to as hot and humid as it’s ever been in the past few years as soon as we got home. It just feels like trying to breathe through a wet sheet over your face.

I think it’s supposed to rain this weekend, and then cool down back into the upper 70s next week. Fingers crossed I get a little motivation back!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

