A Simple Running Log

August 12, 2014

Training for 8/12/14

Filed under: Uncategorized — aschmid3 @ 11:27 am

Finally, I think I’m really back this time!

Yesterday evening, I put on my 890s and went out for a couple of test miles. I decided to alternate two minutes of running and one minute of walking. I walked a minute to start and then sped up to a run for two minutes, waiting for the familiar sting on my left big toe.

But it never happened! Plenty of other things felt creaky after not running for almost two weeks, but nothing hurt. I stuck to the intervals plan for the whole two miles.

Of course, half a mile from home, I suddenly needed to use the bathroom. The only nearby fields were growing soybeans, which don’t get tall enough to conceal a crouching runner haha. There was a cornfield between me and home, but I didn’t think I had enough time to get there. So I ran into a grove of trees that was cut down a couple of years ago and has started to grow back. Unfortunately, at this point, it’s mostly just a thick tangle of briars. I didn’t have a choice though. I crashed through it until I’d gotten to a point tall enough to conceal me and took care of business. I caught a briar pretty deep on my left calf. But I don’t even care! I was just so happy my foot wasn’t bothering me again.

When I got back to the house, I took the bike out for a lap around the 4.5-mile loop. After that, I planned to do all my strength training, but it was getting close to time for Master Chef to start, so I just did the ab exercises, push-ups and invisible chair-sitting. This morning, I lifted weights before work.

Speaking of Master Chef, we’ve also started watching Hotel Hell, Gordon Ramsay’s new show, which comes on immediately following. I think I’ve seen five episodes, and I swear, that guy is doing that show as an excuse to get naked or very close to it on TV every week! He either puts on a tiny Speedo to try out the hotel pool, or, if it doesn’t have one, is shown trying out the shower or bath in his room, with the inappropriate parts either blurred out or strategically covered by suds in the bubble bath he’s drawn for himself haha. It makes me laugh every time!

2 Comments »

  1. Okay, I’m laughing at Gordon Ramsey… Actually, he competed (and finished) at Kona (the triathlete’s Boston) last October. He’s gotta show off that hot bod when he can.

    Comment by kafishgirl — August 12, 2014 @ 12:37 pm | Reply

    • It’s like how Superman appears in every episode of Seinfeld, except it’s a butt haha

      Comment by aschmid3 — August 12, 2014 @ 4:29 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

