A Simple Running Log

July 28, 2014

Training for 7/28/14

Filed under: Uncategorized — aschmid3 @ 12:17 pm

Well, this weekend did not go as planned!

I ran 4.5 miles Friday evening. There was a… twinge in my left foot. In exactly the same spot, near the bottom of the big toe, as there had been on my right foot, about this time last summer, that eventually mushroomed into a searing pain that put me off running for several weeks and ruined my chances at finishing a marathon last fall.

I tried not to freak out right off the bat. I was hopeful it was just a passing thing, and I’d be good to go for my long run in the morning, so I stayed home with Pepper that evening while Clark went to the beach house with his dad and brother.

Saturday morning, there was definitely still a twinge there. I immediately ditched the running plans. I did strength training upstairs, where nothing bothered the toe, including traveling lunges, which were impossible when my right foot was acting up last year. So that was a good sign. I took the bike out after that, but only did 4.5 miles because it looked like it was about to start storming its ass off any minute. (It did, but I made it back home before it hit.)

That evening, after the storms had moved on, Clark and I went to his coworker’s house for a barbecue. It had turned into a very nice evening to sit outside on his coworker’s fancy new patio and drink all his Dogfish Head.

Yesterday morning, the twinge was barely detectable when I woke up, but I decided to be on the safe side and took the bike out again instead. I did the 17ish-mile loop. My butt wasn’t happy when I finally got off the seat, but everything else felt fine.

The rest of yesterday was spent at home being nice and lazy. Clark and I watched the Brickyard 400 (I know they don’t call it that anymore, but that’s what I’ll always know it as.) Bobby Labonte got another one-race deal and got in the field using the past champion’s provisional. He and Jeff Gordon were the only drivers in the field who were in the first Brickyard 400 in 1994!

My Google Fu is failing to produce even one picture of the car Bobby drove yesterday besides a crappy one taken with a fish-eye lens in a garage. Anyway, he didn’t do so hot. He started last and finished 37th, three laps down.

Gordon, on the other hand, won his fifth Brickyard 400. Twenty years ago, when he won the inaugural race, I was seething mad. Yesterday, I wasn’t exactly jumping up and down, but I was a little happy for him. Nostalgia is so weird!

Clark and I mowed and trimmed the yard when the race was over. We got take-out pizza and some beer in town and spent the evening watching episode after episode of “Snapped,” which he usually refuses to do because it makes him nervous haha. Lucky for me, there wasn’t anything better on.

Today, my foot feels normal, but I’m still nervous about trying it out, so I keep putting off the easy 3-miler and strength training on the schedule. Now it’s early afternoon and way too hot for that, so I’ll try to get up the nerve later this evening.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

