A Simple Running Log

July 10, 2014

Training for 7/10/14

Filed under: Uncategorized — aschmid3 @ 3:29 pm

Last night, I did, in fact, do another 4.5 miles. It was starting to sprinkle a little when I left, but I was surprised about halfway through when I saw lightning. And it wasn’t all that far off either. Lightning is one thing I don’t mess around with. I’d have never left the house if I knew that was coming.

But, I was out there, so I finished the lap. Not long after I got home, the skies opened up and we had a proper downpour, and a lot more lightning.

Today, I had the first tempo run of the training cycle on the schedule, a 30-minute run. Well, I waited until after 2:30 p.m. to go out. It wasn’t as hot as it has been, but it was still pretty warm, and extremely humid, as usual.

I’d already let myself off the hook from the tempo run when I left, but I wanted to make myself get through the 7.3-mile loop, and do some kind of speedwork, since I don’t have a 5K this weekend. I decided on three mile repeats at tempo pace, with recovery miles in between.

It started out OK — I did the first warm up mile in 8:30, and the first repeat in 7:21. I did a recovery mile in 8:18, and then the second repeat in 7:34.

By the end of the second repeat, I was absolutely toast. My legs felt like lead, my heart rate was through the roof and I was completely drenched in sweat. The next recovery mile, I walked a quarter, jogged a quarter, walked a quarter and jogged a quarter. It took me 12:26 to get through it.

The third and final repeat, I was doing OK until just past halfway through it, when I just had to stop and walk again a little. That mile wound up taking 8:18. I walked even more at the beginning of the final recovery mile. That one took 10:39, and then I did the final 0.3 miles to get home and put that crappy run behind me.

I did a total of 7.3 miles in 1:05:40, an overall average pace of 9:00/mile on the dot. Man, I really need to stop procrastinating on these runs! This just isn’t the time of year I can put off speed workouts until the middle of the afternoon.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

