A Simple Running Log

July 9, 2014

Training for 7/9/14

Filed under: Uncategorized — aschmid3 @ 2:29 pm

I finally got my butt in gear again yesterday evening. I went out sometime around 7 p.m. for the day’s scheduled 5-mile easy run. I think it had cooled off all the way to about 90! It was still humid though, and windy on top of it.

I did an untimed lap around the 5.5-mile loop. It went fine, other than a pretty bad side stitch about a mile from home. I remembered one of my runner friends saying, a few years ago, how she used to do things to intentionally give herself muscle cramps or side stitches on long runs sometimes, just to prove to herself she could run through them. Which I thought was nuts, by the way, which is probably why it’s stuck with me for so long. But instead of trying to walk it off last night, I tried concentrating on my breathing so I was exhaling when the foot opposite the side stitch landed, and then stretching out that side. It didn’t seem to be doing shit at first, but within probably less than a quarter-mile, it was gone, and I finished the run feeling fine. Huh.

This morning, I went upstairs first for strength training, which included ab exercises, push-ups, invisible chair-sitting and weights, and then I went outside and did another (not very) easy 3-miler. It was hot, humid and breezy again. Right now I’m planning on making today a double, and doing another 4.5 easy miles tonight. I’ll see how that goes when I get home though.

And here’s a completely gratuitous picture of Pepper, who somehow found even more stuffing to pull out of this duck this morning:

photo (2)

I love that “What? I’m not doing anything wrong!” face!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

