A Simple Running Log

July 3, 2014

Training for 7/3/14

Filed under: Uncategorized — aschmid3 @ 2:37 pm

Yesterday, I had strength training and an easy 3-miler on the schedule. I did the run in the morning. It was already hot enough when I got back that I decided to put off the strength training until the evening, when I hoped it would be cooler upstairs. I went up in the attic at 7 p.m., and it was still absolutely sweltering. So I brought down the exercise ball and the adjustable dumbbells, and did ab exercises, push-ups, invisible chair-sitting and lifting with the dumbbells downstairs, where I did not feel like I was going to pass out from heatstroke.

Today was the first speed workout on the marathon training plan, just three hill repeats. Easy, right? Well, I didn’t get out to the Sharptown bridge until almost 10 a.m. on another impressively hot and humid morning. I did a mile to warm up on the flat road, and then I hit the bridge for the first climb.

Holy hell I was beat 10 steps into it! For one, I can’t remember the last time I ran that dumb bridge, and for two, I’m almost positive it wasn’t so freaking hot the last time I did. I made it to the top, cruised down the other side, turned around and went back for the second climb.

When I got to the top of the bridge again at the end of the third and final climb, I had to stop for about five seconds to get my breathing back under control. Three measly hill repeats absolutely killed me today.

I ran back down the bridge, then did another easy mile to cool down, for a total of 3.5 miles today.

Tomorrow is the Fourth of July, of course. I’m doing this week’s long run first thing in the morning, a lap around the 10.5-mile loop. Then Clark and I are going to try to get this place mostly ready for our annual party Saturday afternoon, before we’re meeting the rest of my family in Oxford tomorrow evening for dinner to celebrate my mom’s 60th birthday.

Saturday morning, I’m doing the Beach Paper Firecracker 5K in Rehoboth. When I get home, I’m hoping I won’t have much more to do besides barbecuing all the chicken before the party in the evening. I’m really excited to watch the NASCAR race that night now — Bobby Labonte landed another one-race deal! He’s driving the No. 33 Chevy for Circle Sports Racing. Another underfunded team, but I’m just so happy to get to see him race again I don’t even care.

Sunday is going to be a big fat rest day. No running, no parties.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

