A Simple Running Log

July 1, 2014

Training for 7/1/14

Filed under: Uncategorized — aschmid3 @ 12:28 pm

It’s nice to be following a training plan again. Today, instead of wondering how far I should run when I woke up, I knew Hal Higdon had already decided it should be an easy 5-miler. So that’s what I did.

I had the usual early Tuesday meeting today, which meant I had the motivation needed to get up and get the run in first thing. It’s supposed to get up in the mid-90s and progressively more humid today, so knocking out the run before breakfast was definitely in my best interest.

It already felt pretty warm and soupy when I ran. It went fine though. I breezed through an easy lap around the 5.5-mile loop.

Last night, I got to see my youngest nephew, Jamie, compete in a swim meet. There’s an outdoor public swimming pool only a few miles from my house that I had no idea existed until Jamie’s swim team scheduled a meet with the Seaford team. Good to know!

I got to see Jamie swim in three events. He was swimming his leg of a relay right when I got there, so I didn’t get a picture. I did, however, have the camera (OK, old iPhone) ready for his heat in the individual backstroke:

In the furthest lane from where I was standing, of course.

In the furthest lane from where I was standing, of course.

And the individual freestyle:

Getting ready to go on the third starting block from the left.

Getting ready to go on the third starting block from the left.

On the right.

On the right.

Kara had the unenviable job of an “angel” — she had to round up all the little kids and get them to the starting blocks in time for their events haha. It helped that the kids all had their names written on their backs in Sharpie. My favorite was the kid who also had “Eat my bubbles!” written on his back, right above the waist on his swim shorts.

Kara and Jamie, who was trying to show how his teeth were covered in sugar or something. Typical picture of a 10-year-old!

Kara and Jamie, who was trying to show how his teeth were covered in sugar or something. Typical picture of a 10-year-old!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

