A Simple Running Log

June 9, 2014

Training for 6/9/14

Filed under: Uncategorized — aschmid3 @ 7:16 pm

It’s taken me all day to force myself to write a 90-in. (that’s a whole lot) story on the world’s most boring candidates’ forum last week. As if that wasn’t bad enough, I got an email in the middle of it informing me of yet another one I have to sit through (and then write about) tomorrow night. It’ll be the third one this year, and this is only the primary. I hate hate hate elections.

Anyway… Saturday morning, I left the house around 9 a.m. to do 9 miles. It was an OK run. I felt decent, but I really need to get my butt out the door earlier. It’s getting too warm to wait that late to start running. I was a little overheated by the end, but I finished 9 miles on the dot in 1:18, an 8:41/mile overall pace. At least I didn’t have to go to the bathroom in the woods for once!

I cleaned the disgusting house that afternoon for the first time in, oh, two and a half months? I used to dust and vacuum this place every other week when we bought it!

That evening, Clark and I went to 3rd Wave Brewery. We were there in time to buy into a pool for the Belmont. Everyone threw in $5 and pulled a horse’s number from a hat. Clark pulled the first number and got California Chrome. I was hoping to see a Triple Crown winner anyway, but when he got that number I was really hoping.

That, of course, didn’t happen. My horse finished next to last, so we didn’t even get a consolation prize. Oh well.

We went to Mispillion River Brewing later, hoping to try a wheat beer brewed with jalapenos, but they’d run out of it the night before.

Sunday morning, I got up much earlier and had a much more pleasant run, a quick lap around the 4.5-mile loop. We drove the Jeep down to the beach later that morning.

I took the paddleboard out in the bay. Once again, it took about 30 minutes to paddle to where I decided to turn around, and almost twice as long to paddle back.

Clark and I sat out on the beach and had a couple beers later, and then we headed home so we could make it to a family dinner to celebrate my twin nephews’ confirmation yesterday.

Today turned into a rest day, but it’s been over a week since I had one, so I think I was due anyway.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

