A Simple Running Log

May 23, 2014

Training for 5/23/14

Filed under: Uncategorized — aschmid3 @ 10:30 am

Today is my car’s and my seventh anniversary! It’s got almost 152,000 miles on it now. Other than the normal stuff like tires and brakes and oil changes, I’ve spent zero dollars on maintaining this thing. I’ll probably never buy another brand new car, but I’ve definitely gotten my money’s worth out of this one so far.

Well, I don’t have much running to report on. I did run 4.5 easy miles when I got home from work Wednesday night. Yesterday, my legs felt pretty trashed, so I didn’t run; just did some yoga at home instead.

I really do want to run today. I’d originally planned to do a longer run, maybe the 10.5-mile loop, but I drank a little too much beer and stayed up a little too late last night for that haha. Once I get up the motivation, I’ll do some strength training and a short run instead.

As far as this weekend goes, I’ll just do another short run tomorrow, because¬†Sunday is the Masser 5-Miler in Lewes. Maybe I’ll get in a long run Monday? Ha, probably not. It might be Tuesday morning before it happens.

I did register for a couple races this morning though. July 20, I’m running a 50K in the same state park in Upper Marlboro where I ran my only 50K to date in November 2012. I’ll probably run it with a couple friends who are registered too, who like to take their time in ultras. I will not be setting a PR.

I do hope to PR in the other race I just registered for — Nov. 2, I’m running the Marshall University Marathon in Huntington, W.Va. I can’t believe it’s been more than a year since I ran a full marathon. Fingers crossed I don’t have to drop to the half for the third consecutive time! Training starts at the end of June.

With that, I think my schedule is pretty much set for the rest of the year.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

