A Simple Running Log

May 6, 2014

Training for 5/6/14

Filed under: Uncategorized — aschmid3 @ 10:39 am

Today’s run went much better!

I had my usual Tuesday morning meeting to get to, which forced me to get up early enough to run first thing. I love getting my run done early in the morning, but I hate getting out of bed for it, which is why I need a motivator like having to be somewhere else on time.

Anyway, unlike Sunday, when I had that awful 10-miler, or the day before it, when I ran that awful 5.7-miler, this morning was overcast, calm and chilly enough to wear a light long-sleeved top with shorts. In other words, perfect.

I forgot to mention I wore the new Zeros for Sunday’s run. I thought I liked them, but I wasn’t really sure, since I’d been so preoccupied with the whole butt cut debacle. I wore them again today. Turns out I really do like them! Not a lot was changed, but the upper feels more fitted to my foot than the first version.

It was supposed to be an easy lap around the 5.5-mile loop. Between the weather, my cooperative stomach and my awesome new shoes, I felt fantastic, and I sped up as I went along. Splits were 8:44, 8:20, 8:10, 8:00 and 7:55. I can’t remember the last half-mile split, but I ran the whole thing in 45:00, an 8:11/mile overall pace. And walked back to my house with a big smile on my face, for once!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

