A Simple Running Log

April 29, 2014

Training for 4/29/14

Filed under: Uncategorized — aschmid3 @ 11:11 am

This morning, I took Pepper with me for a lap around the 6.5-mile loop. I didn’t really have a pace in mind, so I just let him set it, as usual.

It was a gray, chilly and very windy morning, but at least it wasn’t raining as had been expected. The first mile was head-on into the wind, and Pepper made all his usual pee stops. We finished it in 8:29.

The rest of the run, we sped up, like Pepper always does. The second mile was 7:55, and the rest were all between 7:24 and 7:41, I think.

We finished 6.5 miles in 50:something, a 7:46/mile average. It made me start thinking about the St. Michaels half in a few weeks, and what my goal time should be. After Shamrock, I was thinking if I could get my half marathon pace back around 8:00/mile, a 1:45 finish, I’d be happy. But 7:45s really didn’t feel too bad today, which would be around 1:41, and a lot closer to my PR. Of course, a lot of it depends on the weather. Sometimes it’s already hot and humid here by May 17.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

