A Simple Running Log

April 17, 2014

Training for 4/17/14

Filed under: Uncategorized — aschmid3 @ 5:17 pm

Today, I had a 40-minute tempo run on the schedule, but instead of doing an actual tempo run, I just took Pepper with me for a lap around the 7.3-mile loop and let him set the pace.

It was a decent morning for a run; on the chilly side for mid-April, but sunny, and the wind had finally died to just a stiff breeze instead of a full-on gale.

Pepper took a stick from the yard with him, and we were off.

The run went pretty well. He had to take six pee breaks in the first mile, as usual, and I think we finished that one in 8:06. The rest were all between 7:42 and 7:55. We finished the whole loop in 56:something, a 7:52/mile overall average. Not really tempo pace, but faster than I would have run it on my own, I’m sure.

Right before the end of the third mile, I thought I heard someone call my name, which was weird. I glanced over to the yard of a house I’ve passed a million times, and there was an older guy I see at a lot of Seashore Strider races. He lives somewhere in theĀ Seaford area, but was doing work on that home. I stopped to talk to him for a couple minutes. He mentioned he hadn’t seen me at any races in a while. I told him about the foot problem last fall that was closely followed by the leg problem over the winter. He looked down at my Zeros and said, “I see you’re still not wearing much support on your feet…” I cheerily said “Nope!” and went on my way. Everyone’s an expert!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

