A Simple Running Log

March 20, 2014

Training for 3/20/14

Filed under: Uncategorized — aschmid3 @ 2:34 pm

Last night, when I got home from work, I went upstairs and did some strength training, including ab exercises, push-ups, invisible chair-sitting and lifting weights.

Today was a pretty nice day, which was great since it’s the first day of spring. I wanted to go for a run, so I took Pepper with me. It was really windy by the time we went, but we did the 4.5-mile loop and managed a decent 7:55/mile average pace. I don’t have any soreness left over from Sunday’s half marathon, so I think I’m ready to start training for St. Michaels.

I looked up Hal Higdon’s intermediate half marathon training plan last night. It’s a 12-week plan, so I’m starting in the fourth week since St. Michaels isn’t that far away. There’s one speed workout a week, either a tempo run or 400-meter repeats at 5K pace, and the long runs increase from seven to 12 miles. It won’t get me in PR shape, but that’s mainly because I really don’t have time for that at this point. I’m just hoping to improve on my time from Shamrock.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

