A Simple Running Log

February 20, 2014

Training for 2/20/14

Filed under: Uncategorized — aschmid3 @ 4:30 pm

I’ve actually ran since I posted yesterday! Twice!

Last night, it was still warm enough for shorts after the sun had gone down, so I put on a pair, along with a neon green long-sleeved shirt, my glow-in-the-dark 1400s and my headlamp, and headed out for a lap around the 4.5-mile loop.

I was running against traffic, as usual, which was a good thing, because the very first car that approached me was being driven by someone who clearly did not notice me at all. I had to step off the road completely to avoid getting clipped, so I muttered something under my breath, flipped off the car (after it had passed, so the driver wouldn’t actually see it, of course) and went on my way.

I hate running at night. My stride always feels weird and choppy because I’m worried about tripping in one of the many potholes and uneven spots I can see in the daylight. The shape of the beam from the headlamp makes me feel like I’m wearing goggles (Clark has said the same thing) and whenever I catch something in the corner of my eye, even my own damn shadow, I think it’s something coming up behind me.

Around the 1.5-mile mark, I saw a stupid deer bounding across a field toward the road, as a car approached. I was starting to worry the car would hit the deer and launch it into me, like the poor woman in D.C. last fall who was hit — while running — by a deer that went airborne after being struck by an SUV on the road. Luckily, the driver saw the jackass deer and was able to avoid it. No freak accidents.

The rest of the run was uneventful.

I’ve been trying to take at least one day off between runs lately, but the weather looked much better for today than it does for tomorrow, when it’s supposed to storm all day. So I took Pepper to Trap Pond State Park for another run.

We did the 4.5-mile loop there. There weren’t too many other people out, just a couple of old guys, one of whom got a big kick out of seeing Pepper trotting along with a giant stick in his mouth haha. Other people’s reactions to seeing Pepper with his stick always make me laugh too.

The run wasn’t as bad as I thought it was going to be, since it’d been less than 24 hours since my last run, but I was still pretty glad to get back to the car.

Tomorrow, I’m doing a hot yoga class first thing in the morning, and taking the day off running.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

