A Simple Running Log

February 6, 2014

Training for 2/6/14

Filed under: Uncategorized — aschmid3 @ 12:10 pm

Yesterday, I meant to get up before work to do some strength training, I really did. But I didn’t expect to still feel so thoroughly exhausted, from the time difference, so I just stayed in bed with Pepper a lot longer than I should have.

Being that tired in the morning meant, of course, that I was wide awake when I got home from work, so I did that strength training last night. I did ab exercises, push-ups, invisible chair-sitting and the workout with the adjustable dumbbells, with four sets of 100 on the jump rope.

The wind really picked up overnight, and it got bitterly cold again. This morning, it was still breezy and frigid outside, but I was feeling much more like I was living on East Coast time again. So I layered up myself and Pepper, much to his dismay, and we went for a run.

I can’t remember the last time I ran with Pepper. Obviously he doesn’t understand anything about injury or coming back slowly. It was a struggle to both hold him back and keep up with his compromised pace, especially after he found a stick about 2.5 miles in and really wanted to take off.

We ran the 4.5-mile loop together in 35:16, a 7:50/mile pace. It killed me! Somewhere around the 4-mile mark it dawned on me there was a time I was seriously training to run an entire marathon at that pace, and had I not gotten injured, I’d be training to run one not much slower than that right this minute. On one hand, it’s discouraging to think how far off my best I’ve fallen, but on the other hand, it’s encouraging to remember that everything goes in cycles, and I’ll be back there someday. I just have to keep plugging along.

1 Comment »

  1. I couldn’t agree more with your last couple of sentences! (I’ve been out for two weeks because of a sinus infection and bronchitis, ugh…) You’ll get back to where you used to be – you might even be faster/stronger than before. By the way, I love your vacation pics. So jealous! It’s been nothing but bitterly cold here.

    Comment by kafishgirl — February 6, 2014 @ 3:03 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

