A Simple Running Log

January 17, 2014

Training for 1/17/14

Filed under: Uncategorized — aschmid3 @ 2:52 pm

This morning, I did strength training upstairs — ab exercises, push-ups, invisible chair-sitting and weight lifting, again with four sets of 100 on the jump rope.

Something cool happened too. Yesterday, I saw on Facebook the organizers of the Island 2 Island Half Marathon, scheduled for April 26 from Assateague Island to the Ocean City inlet, were still looking for a few pace group leaders. I’ve always wanted to lead a pace group, but never gotten the chance. Before I could talk myself out of it, I contacted the organizers and got the number for the woman in charge of the pace groups.

She called me back this morning, and I’m in! She said I’ll either be leading the 2:30 or 2:45 pace group; she’ll make final assignments in the middle of February.

At first, I was all, “I could practically walk a 2:45 half marathon! This is gonna be a piece of cake.” Then I remembered the 3:35 pace group that flew past me around mile 5 of the Shamrock Marathon last spring, when I was running 3:30 pace, and how many of those runners I passed in the second half, even after I’d slowed down, because they went out too fast and blew up. Now I’m most worried I’m gonna do that to someone, because I’ve never run a 12-minute mile pace. It’s one thing to go out too fast and ruin your own goal race. It’s another to ruin someone else’s.

Plus, I have to worry about what happens when my digestive system is up to its usual tricks an hour into the race. Do I tell everyone to keep running and I’ll catch up to them later as I peel off and head for the woods?

I’m sure I’m over thinking this. I’ll have a pace band showing me the elapsed time I should hit at each mile marker, so I’ll know if I’m reaching them too fast. I’ll also have my Garmin so I can check my pace in between.

Anyway, it’s going to be fun. My cousin Becky is already signed up for the race, which is going to be her first half marathon, and I know a couple other people who are thinking about running it.

Plus, volunteering to pace saved me the $75 registration fee, so there’s that.

UPS’s website says my 890s are out for delivery, so maybe they’ll be waiting for me when I get home. I want to try them out this weekend, even if it’s just for a walk, and I’ll probably go to a hot yoga class either tomorrow morning or Sunday morning.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

