A Simple Running Log

January 6, 2014

Training for 1/6/14

Filed under: Uncategorized — aschmid3 @ 12:28 pm

Well, this weekend did not go as planned. At all.

My left leg started acting up again. I don’t know if I tweaked it again in just that short barely-a-run Friday afternoon on the snowy road or what, but when I went out for 8 miles Saturday morning, it didn’t feel very good. The roads by that time were clear in some places and slushy in others, so I wore my trail shoes instead of the YakTrax, which are not supposed to be used on clear roads at all. I took a shortcut home and just did the 4.5-mile loop.

It didn’t feel too bad to walk on Saturday afternoon. I went to my brother and sister-in-law’s house for a wine party my sister-in-law was hosting, and I stayed there all evening. The 2-mile race from last month that had been postponed to Saturday night wound up being completely canceled because of the snow Friday.

Sunday morning, my leg was really bothering me again, on the inside of the shin. I knew running anything would be a bad idea, so I didn’t go out at all. I didn’t do anything all day Sunday other than lie on the couch, watch football and try not to be a sulky, whiny butthole about my leg, even though that’s what I felt like doing.

I am so sick and tired of this. It’s been since last summer that I could just leave the house and run without wondering what’s going to hurt this time, and how bad. Every time I get one thing straightened out, something else is right behind it to take its place.

I don’t know what I’m doing wrong. I’m wearing the same kind of shoes I have for years. I’m taking more rest days than I used to. I’m running the same surfaces I always did. I’m doing strength training. I could definitely stand to be more diligent with the post-run stretching, but I’ve always been bad about that, even when I was running seven days a week and 200-plus miles a month.

My dad would say I’m just “at that age, where everything starts breaking down and is never the same again,” but he said the same thing four years ago when I got ITBS in both legs.

I don’t know!

My leg doesn’t feel too bad today, almost normal. But I’m not running today, and I’m definitely not running tomorrow, if it’s going to feel like it’s below zero with the windchill tomorrow morning. Maybe by Wednesday I’ll be ready to try again.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

