A Simple Running Log

December 31, 2013

Training for 12/31/13

Filed under: Uncategorized — aschmid3 @ 2:28 pm

Well, that’s it! The year is done. This morning, I did my last run of 2013 — 8.4 miles with Pepper. The Garmin said we finished it in 1:09:27, an 8:16/mile average pace. Yes, my left arm hurt from holding back Pepper the whole time!

It was also cold enough for the first time since Christmas to try the new Under Armour turtleneck I got from my in-laws. That thing is awesome! It wasn’t cold enough to need the neck pulled up over my face, but it was lightweight and warm without making me too hot. It also has an extra panel on the front to block wind, and after running head-on into a cold wind for part of the run today, I found it worked really well. Highly recommended.

With that, it’s time for both my December summary and then a look back at 2013.

First, December’s mileage:

  • Week 1 (Dec. 1-7): 38 miles
  • Week 2 (Dec. 8-14): 22.1
  • Week 3 (Dec. 15-21): 28
  • Week 4 (Dec. 22-28): 19
  • Week 5 (Dec. 29-31): 12.9

Total: 120 miles

I finally cracked the triple digits again, for the first time since August! It wasn’t the 175 miles I had on the schedule, thanks to the new pain that cropped up in my left leg, but today’s run felt better than any other since Rehoboth, so I feel pretty good it’s on the way out.

As far as racing went in December, the only one I did was the half in Rehoboth, which was a typical long training run in terms of both pace and the fact I had to stop in the woods after an hour of running to use the bathroom. I was supposed to run a 2-mile night race with Pepper the following week, but it got postponed to this coming Saturday when it was raining so hard they couldn’t keep lit the luminaries that were supposed to light the course.

December was mostly just the continuation of Shamrock Marathon training. I hit some more rough patches, obviously, so I’m hoping things start to go more smoothly in January.

And now, 2013 in review. First, the mileage:

  • January: 219.4 miles
  • February: 140.6
  • March: 140.9
  • April: 165.5
  • May: 131.5
  • June: 131.5
  • July: 149.7
  • August: 175.8
  • September: 71.9
  • October: 80.8
  • November: 90.2
  • December: 120

Total: 1,617.8 miles

I ran about 270 fewer miles this year compared to 2012, which was about 350 short of 2011’s total. I don’t like this downward trend! It’s not like I consciously decided to run fewer training miles. It’s all been because of stupid injuries that have forced me to skip runs, which sucks.

The year started off pretty well. I ran that surprise 1:37 half marathon PR in Surf City the first weekend of February:

The race was the same morning as the Super Bowl, which the Ravens later won for the second time, so of course I had to wear a shirt to represent the team.

The race was the same morning as the Super Bowl, which the Ravens later won for the second time, so of course I had to wear a shirt to represent the team.

Where I also got to hang out with Clark and a bunch of my internet friends:

Group shot on the staircase at Brad's house after dinner.

Group shot on the staircase at Brad’s house after dinner.

Then I ran 3:40 at the Shamrock Marathon a month later, another PR. The relentless wind put the kibosh on my attempt at sub-3:30, but still, a marathon PR is a marathon PR. I was happy with it.

Done!

Done!

After that, things started to get a little ugly. I was still running well, but my digestive issues seemed to get more and more common. I ran a training half marathon in Lewes in April, stopping around mile 8 to use the bathroom, and then a goal half marathon in St. Michaels in May, stopping around mile 10 to hack through some thick briars so I could again use the bathroom. Then I had terrible stomach cramps all the way to the finish line, and finished almost eight minutes off my goal time. But at least I got one of my best pictures of the year, so not all was lost:

If you're going to blow your PR attempt, at least get a good picture out of it.

If you’re going to blow your PR attempt, at least get a good picture out of it.

I managed to get one more PR out of the year, at the Masser 5-Miler on Memorial Day weekend, the first time in the four years I’ve run that race it wasn’t ridiculously hot and humid already:

2013 masser 5 miler finish

Finishing in 34:11.

Maybe my mom was right when she said I should just stick to 5-milers and shorter, since I didn’t feel like I had to crap my pants at any point in that race, because the 5Ks that made up the rest of the summer series all went pretty well too. I ran them all faster than in 2012, and not once did I have to step off-course to find an emergency bathroom.

Finishing the Run for the Ribbon 5K in July.

Finishing the Run for the Ribbon 5K in July.

Accepting the first place award for the summer series in the F 30-34 age group.

Accepting the first place award for the summer series in the F 30-34 age group.

It was after the summer series wrapped up that things went south. I was training for another shot at 3:30 at the Indy Monumental Marathon in November, when a pain in my right foot that started out as a minor niggle exploded into a full-on injury after a back-to-back 19- and 9-miler one weekend. My mileage nosedived from 55 miles a week to a big fat zero.

Eventually I’d missed so many training runs, including the all-important 20-milers, that I dropped to the half at Indy, the first time I’ve ever had to do that.

The half at Indy went fine. I ran about the same pace I’d been aiming for had I managed to run the full (even after stopping to use the bathroom a half-mile from the damn finish!), but the highlight of the weekend was definitely getting to hang out with my internet friends again.

Feeling good somewhere around halfway.

Somewhere around halfway.

Allison, me, Jill, Deanna and Jillian.

Allison, me, Jill, Deanna and Jillian.

I ran a couple of 5Ks in November, including the Ravens vs. Steelers 5K in Ocean City, which was definitely short:

This is not the face of a runner who's only a few seconds off her 5K PR, as my finish time would claim.

This is not the face of a runner who’s only a few seconds off her 5K PR, as my finish time would claim.

And the Huffin’ for Pumpkin Pie 5K, which was on an accurate course:

Now this is the face of a runner who's not even close to her 5K PR but is still trying haha.

Now this is the face of a runner who’s not even close to her 5K PR but is still trying haha.

And then it was finally time for Rehoboth! I’d been looking forward to this race since last year’s. The right foot injury I’d battled for most of September, October and a lot of November was finally gone, and while I wasn’t in any kind of shape to really race this one or challenge my PR, I was hoping for a strong training run, as I was now in training for next year’s Shamrock Marathon.

It started out well, but once again, I had to stop in the woods to use the bathroom. Sigh.

Finishing with a smile because I knew what came next -- the beer tent!

Finishing just under 1:48.

All was not lost though. The after party that lasted all the way through Sunday night more than made up for it, and I got to hang out with the biggest gathering of my internet friends all year. In Delaware!

friday night group pool table

I felt fine after that race, and didn’t run again for another three days, but the rest of December was spent cutting back mileage because of a weird pain in my left leg that seems to have finally sorted itself out.

So that was 2013. Between the nagging injuries in the last third of the year and my stupid butt, it wasn’t my best. I can’t complain though. I had some good races, saw some new places and got to see a lot of my old running friends, and meet some new ones.

Plus, there was plenty of fun stuff that happened outside of running, like getting the Party Barge out on the Choptank again and finding out I hadn’t forgotten how to slalom ski after all:

Me, skiing.

Skiing!

Getting a little closer, I hope, to learning how to surf:

The long board makes me look like a little person!

The long board makes me look like a little person!

Suffering through Aunt Helen’s well-intentioned 30th birthday party for Clark and me:

IMG_0584

Seeing Nashville and Memphis for the first time with Clark:

With a mic alleged to have been used by Elvis to record at Sun Studio in Memphis.

With a mic alleged to have been used by Elvis to record at Sun Studio in Memphis.

And of course, every day with Pepper:

Got him in a kayak for the first time.

Got him in a kayak for the first time!

I’m not setting any big running goals for 2014. I just want to stay healthy and see what happens.

Happy New Year!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

