A Simple Running Log

December 19, 2013

Training for 12/19/13

Filed under: Uncategorized — aschmid3 @ 6:46 pm

Today, I had this week’s speed workout on the schedule, five 800-meter repeats.

It was frosty this morning, but I waited until the early afternoon to go to the track in town. By that time, it was in the mid-50s and rather breezy.

The inside of my left ankle had been bothering me a bit all day when walking. I figured if it hurt too bad while running, I’d pull the plug.

When I got to the track, there was one walker using the outside lanes, but I had the inside lane all to myself. I did an easy mile to warm up. I couldn’t feel anything in my ankle, so I took off for the first repeat.

I was shooting for 3:30 on each one again, and ran the first one in exactly that. While my ankle didn’t bother me, both legs just felt tired and weak from the knees down. I don’t know what’s been going on with them, but it’s getting on my nerves. As I jogged the recovery lap after the first repeat, I was feeling completely unmotivated to deal with the tired legs for four more 800s, but then The Eagles came on my iPod: “All this whinin’ and cryin’ and pitchin’ a fit. Get over it! Get over it!”

Well played, iPod. So I got over it, and cranked out four more: 3:29, 3:28, 3:27 and 3:27.

I was close to the end of a two-mile cool down when, naturally, I felt like I had to go to the bathroom. Unfortunately, since fall sports ended, the port-o-potty that had been right outside the stadium was gone. There were some trees just over the fence on the backstretch, which I would have gladly made a run for, but of course school had just let out and there were kids and buses everywhere. I felt like the girl scrambling over the chain-link fence and running into the woods would have been easily noticed haha.

I cut short the cool down by a half-mile, ending my workout at a total of six miles, and high-tailed it for my car. I’ll just say I didn’t crap my pants, and my lifetime streak of not being caught using the bathroom in the woods is still intact.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

