A Simple Running Log

December 12, 2013

Training for 12/12/13

Filed under: Uncategorized — aschmid3 @ 3:04 pm

I’ve got a few runs to catch up on here.

Tuesday, Clark asked if I wanted to go for a run after work, so as soon as we were home, we layered up ourselves and Pepper and went out.

It was a bitterly cold night, but at least there wasn’t any wind. I had on my headlamp, the beam from which was lighting up the reflective piping on Pepper’s dork jacket. He trotted along in front of us for three miles.

Yesterday, I didn’t get my run done in the morning, so I came home from work a little early to do it in the last of the daylight before I had to take pictures of a parade that evening. Even though I got home about 90 minutes earlier than normal, Pepper had taken a dump in the utility room.

I didn’t have time to be mad at him, and I couldn’t leave him home while I ran since his room was currently covered in poop, so I put his dork jacket on him again and took him out for a trip around the 4.5-mile loop.

It was an OK run. I’d covered a restaurant grand opening that morning and eaten a few things that apparently hadn’t settled, because I had to stop in the woods about halfway through. There’s something screwed up about the fact my dog was the one going in the house while I was the one going outside haha.

Today, I had a 35-minute tempo run on the schedule. Once again, I took Pepper with me. I knew I wouldn’t be able to do my usual slow warm-up mile, 35 minutes at tempo pace and then ease up again for a cooldown the rest of the way home, so I just wore the Garmin and let Pepper set the pace.

We ended up kinda doing a tempo run after all. He kept stopping to take really long pees in the first mile, so it was the slowest at 8:22. We sped up from there — 7:39 (had to confront a dog in a yard), 7:18, 7:18, 7:19. Then we turned into the wind and I slowed him down a little; the last two miles were 7:34 and 7:46, and the final 0.3 miles was at 7:38/mile pace.

We did a total of 7.3 miles in 55:33, overall average pace of 7:37/mile, which is pretty close to what I’d have run had I done a 35-minute tempo run by myself.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

