A Simple Running Log

November 12, 2013

Training for 11/12/13

Filed under: Uncategorized — aschmid3 @ 9:35 pm

Well, marathon training has gotten off to a not-great start.

After running the last three consecutive days, my right foot hurt like hell again this morning. I didn’t even consider running the five easy miles on the schedule.

I don’t know why I thought I was going to be able to jump right back into running six days a week, especially after taking off all of last week because that foot was bothering me again, but I did.

What’s most frustrating about it now is that the pain seems to be in a different place every time. First it was consistently at the base of the big toe. After Indy, it was at the base of the pinky toe. This morning it hurt down the inside of the arch.

That’s in the past tense, because now, after walking around all day in boots with a slight heel, nothing hurts. (I’ve taken the boots off now.) I think the first few weeks of marathon training are going to have to be scaled down in terms of number of days of running, to give my foot enough rest in between runs.

It’s just frustrating. I was looking forward to finally getting back into training again, but I guess I just have to keep being patient.

Getting in the next week of training was going to be a little challenging anyway. Clark and I are heading to Nashville and Memphis for the next week. I’ll run what I can, but I’m not going to obsess about it. What’s a few more missed miles at this point?

1 Comment »

  1. Don’t worry, I started my marathon training with a nasty cold that I have yet to get rid of… I spent my first day of training in bed 😦 Have fun in Nashville and Memphis! 🙂

    Comment by kafishgirl — November 12, 2013 @ 11:52 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

