A Simple Running Log

November 5, 2013

Training for 11/5/13

Filed under: Uncategorized — aschmid3 @ 7:42 pm

I decided to take another rest day today. My right foot was sore after Indy; not in the place that was injured before, but on the opposite side of the foot, near the pinky toe. I’m sure it had something to do with whatever I was doing that also caused those massive blood blisters on the inside of the foot.

Now I’m really glad I only ran the half. Another 13.1 miles probably would have gotten ugly.

It’s gotten progressively less sore since Sunday morning, so I think it’ll be OK to run on at some point this week. I’m not too worried about it.

I also remembered two things from right after the race that I forgot to mention in my race report yesterday:

1. As we left the finisher’s chute, there were several people collecting finisher’s medals for Medals for Mettle, an organization that takes unwanted medals and gives them to sick kids, as a sort of morale boost. As far as I know, most runners who want to donate will just mail them a bunch of old medals that have been collecting dust. But this was the first time I saw volunteers holding buckets and yelling things like “There are sick kids who need these medals, people!” I’ve never been made to feel guilty for wanting to keep a medal I just got two minutes ago. That rubbed me the wrong way.

2. After I got my bag from gear check, I was sitting near another group of runners who’d just finished the race. They had checked cans of beer in their bags! There they were, enjoying a nice cold beer minutes after finishing. It probably wouldn’t be so great on a hot day, but it probably worked out pretty well this weekend. Freaking geniuses. I’m stealing it.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

