A Simple Running Log

October 24, 2013

Training for 10/24/13

Filed under: Uncategorized — aschmid3 @ 4:56 pm

Damn, my legs are killing me!

When I did my strength training yesterday morning, I did a couple of leg exercises I hadn’t done in a while, traveling lunges and these horrible things called Bulgarian split squats. I could tell as soon as I’d finished that workout my quads and butt in particular were going to be feeling that.

When I got home from work last night, Clark was running late again, so after I fed Pepper and let him use the bathroom, I put him back in the utility room, cranked up my iPod so I couldn’t hear his mournful howling and took off for the 5.5 miles I’d been meaning to run since Tuesday morning.

It was still light enough out I thought I’d be home before I needed the headlamp. I did wear my glow in the dark shoes though.

The light was fading faster than I expected though; I should have brought that headlamp. About a mile from home, I ran into Al, who wasn’t out walking, but rather was in his yard with his two large, unleashed dogs. Both dogs came charging toward me as soon as they spotted me, so I stopped running.

Of course, since he wasn’t doing his own workout, Al wanted to talk. He remembered I had a marathon coming up. I told him about how I’d injured my foot and had to take off so long I’d dropped to the half.

I expected to hear some more words of wisdom about how he’d ruined his own knees because of running (true story — he’s mentioned this theory several times), but instead he told me this weird story about how he met online a woman from New Jersey, who met him in Lewes this summer. Since they were at the beach, she was, understandably enough, wearing a swimsuit. He went on and on about how great she looked from 30 years of weight lifting and Zumba. I was kinda nodding my head, trying to hurry him along, as the light was fading fast, and wondering where this was going.

He finally got to the point of the story: “So that’s what you have to look forward to when you’re 50, if you keep it up!”

Haha, yeah… ick. I said something about how dark it was getting and went on my way.

I did some stretching when I got home, but I could tell my legs were already tightening up. Which is sad, because I’d have been doing strength training immediately followed by 5.5 miles as my “easy” days, had I been able to stick with my marathon training plan.

It usually takes about 24 hours for muscle soreness to really set in, so it wasn’t much of a surprise when I woke up this morning and my quads and butt felt like someone had beaten them with a baseball bat.

I still wanted to run again though. I won’t be able to do it tonight, and I’d rather not run at all tomorrow, since I’ve got that 10-mile race Saturday morning.

It was pretty chilly out again. I waited long enough that it warmed up enough so that Pepper didn’t need his dork jacket, and I could get away with just one long-sleeved top, capri-length tights and gloves.

Once I got moving, my legs really didn’t feel that bad. I could tell they were sore, but it was bearable. We did the 4.5-mile loop. I did some more stretching when we got home.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

