A Simple Running Log

October 16, 2013

Training for 10/16/13

Filed under: Uncategorized — aschmid3 @ 5:09 pm

Last night, I came home to an unpleasant surprise. Pepper had been hard at work in the utility room all day, first spreading the water from his bowl over the entire floor, then mixing up all the dirt on the floor to create a huge shallow mud puddle and finally just taking a big nasty dump in the middle of it.

It took an entire roll of paper towels to clean up. The whole time, Pepper stared at me from the other side of the screen door and whined because he couldn’t figure out why I’d banished him outside.

When Clark got home a little while later, I went for my run. It wasn’t dark yet, but it was getting there, so I wore my glow-in-the-dark shoes and took my headlamp with me.

I did a lap around the 4.5-mile loop, turning the headlamp on about a mile into the run, mostly so drivers could see me. By the 3-mile mark, I needed the light to see where I was going.

I wasn’t mad about the utility room anymore by the time I got back home. I even let Pepper snuggle up to me later while we were watching TV.

This morning, I did my strength training upstairs, including ab exercises, push-ups, invisible chair-sitting and weights, which I didn’t drop on my toes today. Then I did a lap around the 4.5-mile loop, this time on the bike.

When I got back home, I did some barefoot exercises and stretching to finish up.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

