A Simple Running Log

October 8, 2013

Training for 10/8/13

Filed under: Uncategorized — aschmid3 @ 8:13 pm

I just got back from my run today. I did the same thing as last week — brought a change of clothes to work so I could run on the trail at the nearby state park after my Tuesday morning meeting.

Today is quite a bit cooler than a week ago. It might have been my imagination, but it seemed like a lot of leaves on that trail changed color in the last week. And best of all, the rain they’d predicted for today hadn’t shown up yet. In summary, it was a gorgeous afternoon for a run.

I felt much better running today than I did last Tuesday. I’m sure some of it had to do with the cooler temperature, but I’d also like to think I’m slowly getting back my running fitness.

I did the same distance, 3.5 miles, but I ran it a little more than two and a half minutes faster today, in 30 minutes flat. My average pace was 8:35/mile compared to 9:21/mile last week. My individual splits were 9:19, 8:12, 8:23 and 8:13 for the last half-mile.

That’s an OK pace for me on trails. The Good Beer Festival is this coming weekend in Salisbury. Last year, I ran the Hangover 5K, which is held on Sunday morning before the festival opens, on the trails at the park. I ran it in 22:53, a 7:22/mile pace. I’d like to run it again this year, though I don’t think it’s going to be that fast.

I also won’t be able to run it with Pepper this time, since dogs are banned from the whole festival this year for some reason. It’s a shame; Pepper had such a good time last year.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

