A Simple Running Log

August 27, 2013

Training for 8/27/13

Filed under: Uncategorized — aschmid3 @ 4:03 pm

Last night, by the time I did the grocery shopping at Walmart after work, got home, unloaded the car and changed into my running clothes, it was a little too late to get in all 8.5 miles. I don’t like running in the dark if I can avoid it, though I do have a headlamp that I’ll use when necessary.

I had just enough time before it got totally dark to do the 5.5-mile loop, bringing the day’s total to 14 miles instead of 17. I know the scheduled long run for this coming weekend is 13, so I’ll just try to get some sleep Saturday night this time and give the 17-miler another go Sunday morning. I would try to do it Saturday instead, but the Last Blast Prediction 5K, to finish off the summer series, is Saturday morning.

Last night’s run didn’t feel too bad, and I was hoping I’d be up for the speed workout I had scheduled for this morning. However, the next installment of my favorite guilty pleasure TV show premiered last night, “Teen Mom 3.” It was a two-hour episode, and it didn’t start until 10 p.m. I was really tired, but man I love those shows for some reason I can’t explain! I almost made it to the end. I think I fell asleep sometime in the final half hour.

I woke up on the couch around 1:30 a.m. and went to bed. Clark’s alarm started going off pretty early so he could work out this morning. I think he hit snooze three times before he finally rolled out of bed, which meant I woke up all over again every time the snooze alarm went off.

I was still really tired when I eventually got up to feed Pepper, but I stayed out of bed and got dressed anyway. I even programmed the Garmin to measure out six half-mile intervals for me, which I was going to try to run at 10K pace.

But, then I actually started running. The first mile always sucks, but it was especially sucky today. My legs felt heavy, and breathing felt like a chore. I didn’t even want to try the intervals today. I knew it would end badly. So I turned off the Garmin, and I made myself do an easy lap around the 4.5-mile loop, since I was already out there. I’ll try the intervals again tomorrow. There’s no trashy TV on tonight that I just can’t turn off, so maybe I’ll get some sleep.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

