A Simple Running Log

August 15, 2013

Training for 8/15/13

Filed under: Uncategorized — aschmid3 @ 3:59 pm

I had a pretty great run this morning!

There really was no reason not to. It doesn’t get better in August for running than this morning. Temps in the low 60s, low humidity, light breeze, clear and sunny. I’m not ready for summer to be over yet, but I have to admit it was nice to get in a strong training run thanks to unseasonably awesome weather.

I had a tempo run on the schedule, increasing this week to 40 minutes. The Garmin showed I ran an 8:45 mile to warm up, and then I picked it up for the next 40 minutes.

I was humming right along, and every time I glanced down at the Garmin, the pace was right about where I wanted it to be for one of these runs, as was the effort. A week ago, trying to keep the same pace on a warmer, muggier morning didn’t happen, and it felt harder even though it was slower. It’s always easy to forget just how much of an effect the weather has, until you get a nice day and suddenly you can run again.

I clipped off 5.5 miles in 40 minutes, a 7:16/mile pace. I slowed down and ran the rest of the way home easy for a cool down.

In all, I ran my 8.2-mile loop in 1:02:36, a 7:38/mile overall average. The Garmin showed my best mile during the tempo portion was a 7:11.

Tonight, Clark and I are going to the Ravens’ preseason game against Atlanta. I know it’s just preseason, but it’s still fun, and the tickets were free, so I can’t pass that up.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

