A Simple Running Log

August 12, 2013

Training for 8/12/13

Filed under: Uncategorized — aschmid3 @ 4:48 pm

Friday evening, Clark decided he wanted to get a couple of beers at the pub near my office after work. When we left, I tried to start my car. It started right up, but then immediately cut off, and this weird symbol came on the dash, one I’ve never seen before.

The owner’s manual informed me that symbol was letting me know the ignition immobilizer anti-theft feature had detected the key I got with the car more than six years ago was, as of that moment, improperly coded, and clearly I was a thief trying to steal my own car, so it was thwarting that for me. And I was welcome.

Nothing makes me madder than an inanimate object that can’t do its job. How the hell is that key just now “improperly coded”? I tried cussing at it and throwing the key across to the other side of the car, while Clark tried messing around with the fuses and battery. All to no avail.

Defeated, I left the car in the parking lot behind my office and rode home with Clark. 

Saturday, Clark left really early to go surfing. I said I wanted to get that long run done first thing, so I stayed home.

When Clark got back at 10:30 a.m., he found me lying on the living room floor with Pepper, in my running clothes. He asked how the run went. I said I didn’t know yet haha.

It took another half hour of lying around before I finally mustered up the energy to go out for my run. By that time, it was pretty warm and muggy, and sunny on top of it. I decided to just do the 7-miler I’d planned for Sunday. And to forget about the goal marathon pace. It was too hot for that crap.

So I just did a slow, easy lap around the 7.3-mile loop. It wasn’t a particularly great run. The best part was when it was over.

That afternoon, Clark went back to Denton to try to get my car to agree to run long enough to get home. He took the valet key with him, which isn’t coded and doesn’t have the remote key fob, and tried that first. The car started right up.

He came back home, and then we both went back to Denton, along with Pepper. Since we were there, we had dinner outside at the pub. I drove the car home with no problems.

Sunday morning, I was determined to get that stupid 14-miler done before it got too warm again. I stayed up after feeding Pepper, ate breakfast, put a GU and two salt caps in my water bottle pouch, filled up the bottle with plain water and went out.

Sunday was a better day for a long run anyway. It was overcast just about the entire time I was running, and it even sprinkled on me a little in the first three miles. Still, I felt slow. My feet weren’t too happy. I think those Zeroes are definitely worn out.

But I finished the entire 14.5-mile loop, which was what mattered. The Timex had me at 2:10 when I got home, an average pace just under 9:00/mile.

The rest of the day, I tried to get up the motivation to do some housework. Right after the NASCAR race ended, there was a small burst of productivity during which I did all the dishes and folded and put away all the clean laundry piled on a bed. After I got the dishwasher running, I noticed it was unfairly judging me, probably for my habit of walking around in my underwear at home.

photo

 

Screw you, dishwasher! I’ll wear what I want!

This morning, I did the 3-mile easy run on the schedule first thing. After breakfast, I went upstairs and did push-ups, ab exercises, invisible chair-sitting, weights and stretching.

I just called a Honda dealership about that key. A new remote key, with programming, would run $115. When I explained what happened, however, the service guy said it was most likely not the key that went bad, but the immobilizer itself. That would cost $116 for the parts, $95 an hour for the labor and, of course, $95 for the diagnostic test to see what the problem actually is. Of course.

I don’t get the point of this stupid anti-theft feature anyway. I thought most car thieves hotwired cars. I’ve never heard of one who walks around with a keyring full of keys for every make and model he might come across. I wonder if they could just remove it and be done with it.

2 Comments »

  1. Darn those judgemental dishwashers!!

    Comment by Laura — August 13, 2013 @ 1:33 am | Reply

    • They’re the worst!

      Comment by aschmid3 — August 13, 2013 @ 7:10 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

