A Simple Running Log

July 23, 2013

Training for 7/23/13

Filed under: Uncategorized — aschmid3 @ 5:48 pm

It’s July 23, my annual “where did the summer go?” date. Which is silly, because we’re technically only one third of the way through it.

Last night, I waited long enough to do my run that I was able to take Pepper with me. I was going to drive to the trail, because it was still pretty warm and humid outside, but I really didn’t feel like going to all that trouble. So I made him run on the road with me.

I thought maybe he’d have some trouble, but it turned out I was the one having a rough time. First of all, I’ve never inhaled so many bugs on a single run in my life, and this was only three miles. Just past the end of the first mile, I inhaled a big one that went straight to the back of my throat, and had to stop on the side of the road to try to hack it back up. The entire run, I kept having to spit out bugs or wipe them out of my eyes. Every time he’d hear me start coughing one up, Pepper would stare at me over his shoulder.

Second of all, I must not have drank enough water during the day yesterday, because I got a bad stomach cramp in the second mile. Bad enough I had to stop a couple of times to try to massage it out. Between that and the bug-ejecting stop, Pepper was getting pretty fed up with me haha.

We finally made it though! When we got back inside, I took Pepper’s water bowl into the bathroom to get him some cold water and glanced at myself in the mirror. My stomach, chest, arms and neck were absolutely coated in tiny bugs. I was so grossed out I made Pepper wait for his usual post-run treat so I could take a shower instead.

Pepper was fine — no puking, and he was happy after he finally got a treat and a couple of ice cubes (which he thinks are also treats.)

This morning, I was up in plenty to time to go to the Sharptown bridge and do the four hill repeats that were on the schedule, but I just didn’t feel like it. Looks like I’m running after work again today.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

