A Simple Running Log

July 19, 2013

Training for 7/19/13

Filed under: Uncategorized — aschmid3 @ 3:07 pm

Today was a rest day, so I rested.

Tomorrow morning is the Race for the Ribbon 5K in Rehoboth. It’s on the exact same course as the Father’s Day 5K last month.

Right now, I’m really wishing I’d done one of the earlier 5Ks in the summer series and wrapped up my qualifying requirements with the 5K two weeks ago, because tomorrow is going to be pretty much horrendous. This heat wave will still be going strong. Right now, weather.com is calling for a feels like temp of 90 degrees with 82 percent humidity at the 7:30 a.m. start. And sun, of course. On another unshaded course through residential streets.

I’ve accepted the fact I’m not going to run very fast tomorrow. Oh well. The after party is a pancake and sausage breakfast hosted by the Greene Turtle on the boardwalk, so it’ll be worth it when it’s over.

TK and I will probably hang out on the beach for a while afterwards, where it’s supposed to feel like 100 degrees by noon. We’ll definitely be running in the water pretty often, I’m sure. Tomorrow evening, I’m going to my nephews’ birthday party.

Sunday, all I have on the schedule is my long run. It’s a cutback week. Only 8 miles. It might even be raining! We’re supposed to get some storms Saturday evening and Sunday that should finally snap this heat wave. There’s no Sprint Cup Series race this weekend, just a Nationwide race in Chicago on Sunday afternoon.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

