A Simple Running Log

July 18, 2013

Training for 7/18/13

Filed under: Uncategorized — aschmid3 @ 5:10 pm

Happy 20th birthday to my little sister! She’s grown up from a Creature Child to a Creature Teen and now to a Creature Co-Ed. I don’t know what I’ll call her when she graduates from college in a couple of years. Have to wait and see where she gets a job.

Today is, again, ridiculously hot. I had a speed workout on the schedule, a 30-minute tempo run, but it never even crossed my mind to actually attempt it today. I knew it would only be frustratingly slow, and besides, I’ve got another 5K to survive in two days.

I just ran the 7.3-mile loop at an easy pace instead. It wasn’t too bad. I don’t enjoy constantly wiping stinging sweat from my eyes or feeling my “quick dry” shorts clinging to me like a wet plastic bag only a couple of miles into a run, but it’s the middle of July. What do you expect?

I have to say, I’m impressed with the durability of the iPod nano I got for Christmas. I bought an armband for it, but it was too big for my arm and I’ve never tried to find another one. I’ve gotten in the habit of just putting it in the key pocket on the inside of the waistband on the back of my shorts, which was fine, until summer hit. It gets drenched in the torrent of sweat produced by my back every time I run with it now, but it just keeps trucking along. I was always under the impression iPods were delicate little flowers when it came to water, but this one’s pretty tough.

Guess what tomorrow is? A rest day! And since I actually stuck to my schedule this week, I get the day off instead of using it to make up missed workouts.

 

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

