A Simple Running Log

July 9, 2013

Training for 7/9/13

Filed under: Uncategorized — aschmid3 @ 5:39 pm

This morning, I did the long run I was supposed to do Sunday.

The original plan was to get up early and be on the road in time to get it done before it started to get hot. Ha! New plan: Stay in bed until even later than usual, and run long anyway. Since I don’t seem to be able to make myself get up early ever anymore, it’ll be good practice for the rest of my long runs all summer anyway.

It was past 8:30 a.m. when I finally left the house. (I have to work late tonight, so I wasn’t in a rush to get to the office at a normal hour.) It was hot and muggy. Thankfully, there was a decent amount of cloud cover, so I didn’t have to spend too much time in full sunlight.

Last week, I got another bottle of SaltStick salt caps and a 24-pack of GU. This morning’s run was only 10.5 miles, so I didn’t take a GU, just one salt cap for halfway through the run. And my water bottle, of course.

I was really expecting the whole run to suck, but, much to my surprise, it flew by pretty quickly. I drank a little water every 1.5 miles or so and took my salt cap about halfway through. Other than that, I just kept running.

By the time I made the turn at Galestown to run the last three miles home, I was completely drenched in sweat. I thought it was starting to rain, until I realized the “rain” was just sweat being shaken loose from my shorts with every step.

I finished the loop in about 1:32, a decent 8:45/mile average. I have finally finished the first week of marathon training, two days in to the second week.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

