A Simple Running Log

June 14, 2013

Training for 6/14/13

Filed under: Uncategorized — aschmid3 @ 4:10 pm

Yesterday, some storms passed through the area. It looked like a whole lot of nothing from my office, so I was surprised when I got home to find the power was out, and seemed to have been for some time, judging by how stuffy it’d already gotten in the house. We have never lost power for an extended period of time in the five years we’ve lived in that house, not even during the hurricane last fall or the blizzards a few winters ago. So I opened the blinds to let in some light and waited for the power to come back on any minute.

Except it didn’t. The electric co-op’s website said a stupid tree had fallen and knocked out a pole in our area, and they were working on replacing it. By 9 p.m., it had finally gotten too dark to see in the house and I didn’t have anything to eat for dinner that didn’t need to be cooked, so I put Pepper in the car (Clark was at an O’s game) and we headed over to my parents’ house.

Ours was the last outage related to the storm to be restored. Pepper and I finally got to go home last night a little before midnight, not long before Clark made it back. It was another late night.

Which is why, once again, I slept in this morning. I had planned to do my long run this morning, so I could just do a short, easy run tomorrow and be a little more rested for Sunday’s 5K, but I was still tired when I finally got up today. So I switched the workouts.

Pepper and I went to the trail for an easy lap around the 3-mile loop. It was kind of a mess out there. I guess the storms were stronger there than where I work. There were several places where we had to go way off the trail to find a spot to get around a huge tree or two that had blown over.

I don’t know who takes care of that trail, but they do a pretty good job, so I expect it’ll be cleaned up again soon enough.

Tomorrow morning, I’ll do a lap around the 10.5-mile loop, and in the evening, we’re going to my friend’s 30th birthday party. I can’t stay too late, because I’m signed up for my first 5K of this year’s summer series Sunday morning, the Father’s Day 5K in Rehoboth. Luckily, one of my other friends, who is also running the 5K, is going to the party too, so maybe she’ll be able to convince me to go home at a decent time so I can actually get some sleep before the race.

And since Sunday is Father’s Day, I will at some point go see my dad, and there’s the NASCAR race in Michigan to watch.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

