A Simple Running Log

May 28, 2013

Training for 5/28/13

Filed under: Uncategorized — aschmid3 @ 5:37 pm

This weekend, my 2-year-old 5-mile PR died a quick and relatively painless death!

Saturday morning, my toe was feeling OK, so I did a few easy miles on the cross country trail. In the afternoon, I went to my friend’s house for lunch, and stayed in that evening.

Sunday morning, I ran the Masser 5-Miler, the opening event for the Seashore Striders Summer Championship Series. It’s a very popular race, particularly among anyone who wants to qualify for the summer series, because it’s one of only two 5-milers on the schedule, at least one of which you have to run to qualify, and the second one is at the end of the July.

The last three years I ran this race, the weather felt like it might as well have been the end of July anyway. It’s always been hot and humid. In fact, this race a year ago was the first and so far only time I’ve ever thought I was going to puke at the end of a race because I was so hot.

And then there was this year!

We had unseasonably cool weather. It was around 50 at the start, and breezy. There were a few runners in long sleeves, and I even saw one old guy wearing gloves (and another old guy making fun of him.)

TK and I had gotten to Cape Henlopen High School in Lewes in more than enough time to pick up our race bibs and T-shirts (we got women’s cut tech shirts this year, but they were out of my size by the time I got there and I had to get a size larger) and then hang out in the car for a little while (because it was so COLD out!) before I ran an easy mile to warm up.

By the time I’d finished that mile, I felt warm enough to take off my sweatshirt and just run in a T-shirt, and headed into the stadium for the start of the race on the bright blue rubberized track.

I started a few rows back from the front. There were these two little kids in front of me. This older guy to my left told them right before the start to “not trip this time.” I scooted over so I was no longer behind them, haha.

We got the commands and the whole pack surged forward, without tripping. We ran a portion of a lap around the track before leaving the stadium:

I'm in the lower right corner in the yellow shorts and gray T-shirt.

I’m in the lower right corner in the yellow shorts and gray T-shirt.

I didn’t have much of a solid goal for this race, other than to PR. My current 5-mile PR pace was slower than my 10K PR pace, because the only 5-milers I’ve ever run have all been in May or June, when it’s warm. If I couldn’t beat the crap out of my weak ass PR on Sunday in that perfect weather, something was very wrong.

Ideally, I wanted to come in under 35 minutes, a 7:00/mile pace, but anything under 36:40 would have made me happy.

Once we left the stadium, the course took us behind the school and then led us out of the front entrance, where we crossed a highway and got on a crushed gravel trail running along the side of a road.

I hit the first mile marker in 6:40. I felt pretty good, but I knew that was a little too fast.

We left the crushed gravel trail and followed the shoulder of the road past some subdivisions. There was a water stop at mile 2. I skipped the water but noted my time — 13:25, a 6:45 second mile. Sub-35 was looking good!

Then we hit what was the hardest stretch of the course. It was slightly uphill and head-on into the wind. I was struggling, but I kept pushing. We ran into downtown Lewes, and I passed the third mile marker in 20:20, a 6:55 third mile. Still on track for sub-35, but I was starting to feel tired and I knew I was going to have to really push myself to get it.

We made a few turns in Lewes, and then got back on the road that would lead us back to the front entrance of the high school. I always hate this part. You can see the school entrance a solid mile away, but it just never seems to get any closer.

I also skipped the water at the second stop at mile 3.9. I never saw a fourth mile marker, so I wasn’t sure how I was doing.

We finally made the turn back onto the high school campus. On the way back, we got to run straight to the stadium instead of going behind the school like we had on the way out. I checked my watch at one point and saw it was at 31:30ish, and realized there was a good chance I was going to get sub-35 after all.

We ran back into the stadium and retraced backwards the part of a lap we’d done at the start. I came around the final turn in the track and tried to sprint for the finish:

2013 masser 5 miler finish

And crossed the line in 34:11! A 2.5-minute PR (and three minutes faster than the same race a year ago), and a 6:50/mile average pace, which is finally faster than my 10K pace, haha. I was so happy with that race and how I ran it.

I did another easy mile or so to cool down, with another local runner, Matt. That guy loves to talk. And you don’t even have to say anything back! He was telling me all about his training for his first full Ironman in November, and the high school track and field team he’s started working with as an assistant coach this spring.

When they posted the results, my time placed me first of 17 in the F 30-34 age group (the second-largest women’s age group in the race, by the way), sixth of 134 women and 38th of 292 total runners.

TK took this picture of me accepting my first first-place trophy in my new old lady age group:

Masser 5-miler award

After the race, TK and I drove to Assateague to her boyfriend’s house. This is the view from the wraparound second-story porch:

Not bad, huh?

Not bad, huh?

We were going to take the boat to get lunch, but by the time he got it running, we only had time to take it up to the marina to get gas and back. It was a little on the chilly side, but it was still fun to take a short ride on the bay. Maybe this summer we can try the lunch thing again.

Going under the Verrazano Bridge (named for the same guy as the one in New York City, by the way.)

Going under the Verrazano Bridge (named for the same guy as the one in New York City, by the way.)

Ocean City inlet from an angle I've not seen before.

Ocean City inlet from an angle I’ve not seen before.

I had to get home for my brother’s Memorial Day party. I didn’t take any pictures, but I did get a lot of good video of the rest of my family dancing in the back yard, haha.

Yesterday, I slept in, and then Clark and I spent the whole day cleaning stuff. It needed it, bad. I scrubbed up off the front entrance floor even more blood from Pepper’s accident almost a month ago we’d not noticed before, and then I cleaned the rest of the house. Clark washed his truck and my filthy car. He said my car was the first one he’s ever washed that he had to scrub bugs off the rear bumper, haha.

This morning, I waited until some showers had passed, and then Pepper and I did the 5.5-mile loop together. It was quite a bit warmer and muggier than it had been Sunday, but we had a good run together, and Pepper got a treat at the end, so he was happy.

2 Comments »

  1. Sounds like a good weekend! Congrats on the PR!

    Comment by Laura — May 28, 2013 @ 6:14 pm | Reply

    • Thanks!

      Comment by aschmid3 — May 28, 2013 @ 6:32 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

