A Simple Running Log

May 23, 2013

Training for 5/23/13

Filed under: Uncategorized — aschmid3 @ 4:33 pm

Today is a very special day. It’s my car’s and my sixth anniversary! Here’s to another six years and 135,000 miles together. At least!

This morning, I decided I wanted to do just a little speed work, to feel at least a little ready for the Masser 5-Miler on Sunday morning. It was another warm and muggy morning, this time with the added bonus of the sun and a double bonus of some wind, so I settled on just doing a couple of mile repeats at what felt like a manageable race pace. I wore the Garmin so it could tell me what that “manageable” pace had been when I was done.

I did a mile to warm up and could already feel the sweat dripping off the end of my ponytail and onto the backs of my legs. That’s such a weird feeling every spring, but by June I won’t even notice it.

Anyway, I sped up for a mile, took the next mile easy, sped up for a second mile and ran the last mile and a half home, for a total of 5.5 miles today.

The Garmin said my two fast miles were 7:04 (into the wind for much of it) and 6:57 (not running with it, but trees blocked it mostly.) I’d be happy to maintain either one of those for Sunday’s race.

I think I’ve got a good chance of it too. Sunday is supposed to be 20-something degrees cooler and less humid than today, which will make for good running weather for the first time in the four years I’ve run this race. It’s always been hot and humid.

I ran the whole loop in 41:53, a 7:37/mile overall average according to the Garmin. I did some stretching when I got home.

This morning, I saw my pictures from Saturday’s race in St. Michaels. Last year, I ran the race easy and felt great, so I got some of my best running pictures ever, like this one, less than a half mile from the finish line:

Last year.

Last year.

This particular picture was so good the race organizers posted it on their Facebook page a few months ago.

Then, there was this year. This picture cracks me up — it’s the same point in the course as the picture above, but I look a lot less happy, and the pure joy on the face of the woman running next to me just makes it that much more obvious:

WHERE IS THE FINISH. WHY ARE YOU SO HAPPY.

WHERE IS THE FINISH. WHY ARE YOU SO HAPPY.

And this one, taken right after the finish, is pretty spot on too:

Blergh.

Blergh.

However, as crappy as I felt, and as pissy as I look in these pictures, somehow, the professionals at Chessie Photo managed to get a good one of me right after mile 12, when we first got on the bike path:

Screen Shot 2013-05-23 at 12.10.12 PM

All’s well when one of the pictures turns out OK, right?

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

