A Simple Running Log

May 16, 2013

Training for 5/16/13

Filed under: Uncategorized — aschmid3 @ 8:53 pm

I didn’t do my strength training last night (let’s all gasp in surprise), so I did it this morning. I did ab exercises, push-ups, invisible chair-sitting and lifted weights, and then I did some stretching to finish up.

It was pretty warm in the attic already at 8:30 a.m.; I think all the old people in the senior center at my first assignment today said it’s supposed to be around 86 this afternoon here. (I don’t know who loves to talk about weather more, old people or farmers. Probably old farmers.)

Tomorrow is a rest day, and the last day before the St. Michaels Half Marathon on Saturday morning. I feel really good, and I expect to feel even better after another day off running tomorrow.

My goals for the half all depend on whether or not I feel like really pushing myself Saturday, and I won’t know that until I start running. Physically, I think I’m capable of breaking 1:35, but I don’t know if I will feel like going there. Also, it’s going to be warm again this weekend, quite a bit warmer than I’ve been training in to this point.

I’d like to at least break 1:37 finally. I pulled off my current PR (1:37:02) at Surf City in February, when I wasn’t even trying to PR. That’s how it usually goes.

Whatever happens, there will be a beer waiting for me at the end, and I’ll get to hang out with Kara, TK and Allison. It’s going to be a good time.

There was some exciting news today out of Delaware’s capital — the governor signed into law a bill allowing package stores to sell and refill growlers. Until now, you had to go to a brewery for that. We got a growler for our birthday, so now we can get 64 oz. of draft beer all over the state!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

