A Simple Running Log

May 10, 2013

Training for 5/10/13

Filed under: Uncategorized — aschmid3 @ 1:56 pm

Surprise! I can post today after all. I’m not at work, but they’re letting us use our iPhones as hotspots for the laptops they gave us a couple of weeks ago, so I have internet access at home now. I’m actually doing some writing at home today, not just running up data charges for the hell of it.

Last night, Pepper hadn’t destroyed his ear when we got home, so we took him back to the vet to get the stitches out. While we were waiting, a woman brought in a little bichon that had just gotten run over by a car on their farm. She said the 14-year-old dog was deaf and blind and probably just didn’t know the car was coming. We could hear it wailing in an exam room while they were trying to take its vitals. I hope that dog was OK.

Pepper’s ear looks a little grosser now with the stitches out, but the vet said that was normal because it’s scabbing over. Anyway, I think that whole ordeal is finally over.

This morning, I set out to run the 60-minute tempo run I didn’t do yesterday.

I was excited to get to run shirtless for the first time this year; it’s supposed to get up in the low 80s today, and it was already close to 70 when I ran, and nice and sunny.

I always seem to conveniently forget how much harder the same effort can feel when it gets even a little warmer though, and I quickly realized today’s run wouldn’t go nearly as well as last week’s tempo run, which was on a much cooler and overcast morning. This close to the race, I don’t see what good killing myself to hit a certain pace or time is going to do anyway, so I decided I’d just two miles at race pace, take a breather for a mile, do two more at race pace and then run the last 1.3 home for a cool down.

And it still felt tough! I was sweating my face off. I can’t remember the last time I wished I’d carried water with me just for a 7-miler. I can’t believe just a week ago I breezed through 55 consecutive minutes and more than 7.6 miles at faster than my goal pace.

Anyway, after the 8:28 warm up mile, I did two miles of 7:20 and 7:11, ran an easy mile in 8:11, did two more fast miles in 7:15 and 7:09, and then ran the last 1.3 at a little under an 8:00 pace. In total, I did 7.3 miles in 55:40, a 7:38/mile average pace.

I love love love summer, but getting acclimated to running in warmer weather always sucks, and today was just a small taste of what’s to come.

Of course I had to check the weather for next Saturday’s race as soon as I got home, even though it’s going to change 90 times between now and then. Right now they’re calling for a low of 60, high of 75 and a 60 percent chance of showers. If that’s the case, I might have a shot at my goal time. If not, oh well.

Yesterday, I finally settled on my fall marathon. I’m registered for the Indianapolis Monumental Marathon on Nov. 2. It was on a short list of races to consider anyway, and the price was about to go up last night from $80 to $100, so I went ahead and pulled the trigger.

I picked it because the training won’t start until July, which means all the 20-milers will land in September and October, instead of August; the course is pretty flat except for some hills between miles 15 and 18; it’s about the same size as Shamrock (there were about 3,000 finishers in the marathon last year), which is, in my opinion, the best size; and it’s a Saturday morning race, which means we don’t have to spend all day Saturday sitting around waiting to run Sunday. We’ll get the race done and then party — Nov. 3 is my friend Allison’s birthday.

I’d thought about driving back out there, but round-trip flights cost about what gas probably would, and Allison booked the same flights and offered to split airport parking costs, so we’re just going to fly. I’m splitting a room with Allison, Jillian and Jill, so that’ll be cheap too.

Kara has this master plan for both of us to BQ this fall, me at Indy and her at Rehoboth in December, so we can run Boston together in 2015. A lot of people signed up for late spring or early September marathons, trying to BQ in time to apply for next year’s Boston, but I have no interest in Boston 2014. There’s going to be a metric shit ton of people there, even more so than usual for that race, to commemorate the first running since the bombings this year. I’d rather stay away from all that.

 

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

