A Simple Running Log

May 7, 2013

Training for 5/7/13

Filed under: Uncategorized — aschmid3 @ 3:47 pm

Guess who got to take off his cone last night?

pepper

Pepper doesn’t seem to be bothering the stitches much, so I think he’s done with the cone for good. Well, until the next time he rips open his ear being completely stupid, anyway.

This morning, I got up early enough to get in my scheduled interval workout before work. Again, I skipped driving in town to the track and just programmed the Garmin to measure out the intervals for me. Doing these workouts on the road instead of around a boring track might be my favorite thing about having the Garmin now.

Just like last Tuesday, it was overcast and just a little misty when I left for my run, so I didn’t wear a hat. I made it a little farther down the road this time before the rain started coming down, but I was just as thoroughly soaked by the end of the run this week, and just as pissed at the rain stinging my eyes. Whenever I wear a hat just in case it starts raining while I’m running, by the way, it never does.

I was supposed to do six 800-meter repeats at 10K pace according to the plan, so I set the Garmin for six half-mile intervals with quarter-miles of recovery between each. My goal pace for each half-mile was 7:00/mile.

I did an easy mile to warm up, ran all six intervals and recoveries, and then ran about two more miles easy to cool down, a total of 7.3 miles today.

The batteries lived for the entire workout today, so I have my actual paces for each interval: 7:09, 6:56, 6:48, 6:43, 6:41 and 6:35. The first one was slow, as usual, but I managed to run the rest progressively faster, so I was happy with it today.

I finished the whole loop in 56:01, a 7:41/mile overall average.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

