A Simple Running Log

April 30, 2013

Training for 4/30/13

Filed under: Uncategorized — aschmid3 @ 4:29 pm

Last night, I did not do my strength training. Big surprise, right? I had much more important things to do, like lying on the couch and watching the “Teen Mom 2” season finale.

I did get up this morning in time to do my scheduled interval workout though. I was supposed to do four 1600-meter repeats at goal half marathon pace. Once again, instead of driving in town to the track, I just used the Garmin to measure out four one-mile repeats with a half-mile of recovery between each.

Or at least I would have, had the thing not been close to dead. I know I put it on its charger Saturday after my run; I guess it wasn’t on there all the way though, because as soon as I turned it on this morning, it claimed the battery was low. I still programmed in the intervals in the hopes its “battery low” alert was like my car’s “out of gas” alert — super conservative, because it knows I’m going to ignore it until the last possible second, at which point I might still have a lot of ground to cover.

I thought all the rain from yesterday was supposed to have moved on by this morning, so I was surprised to find it lightly misting when I stepped outside. It was still warm enough for shorts and a tank top at least, and the mist wasn’t coming down too hard, so I wasn’t concerned enough to go get a hat.

Naturally, the mist turned into a light rain as I ran my warm up mile. It wasn’t until I was far enough down the road I didn’t want to turn around that I first thought, “Huh, a hat might have been a good idea. I bet this little shower passes over quickly though.”

The “little shower” continued to pick up in intensity as I finished the warm up mile and hit the ‘lap’ button on the Garmin to start the first interval. Once again, it reminded me the batteries were low, and once again, I hoped that meant I still had another hour before they actually died.

I sped up for the first interval to what felt like goal race pace. I didn’t look at the Garmin though, until I was getting close to the end of the first interval, to see how much farther I had — only to see a blank screen.

Great. It’s pouring rain, I didn’t wear a hat and my Garmin’s dead. I ran hard to about where I imagined the first interval would have ended, and then decided that was enough goal race pace for today. I lost all the will to run the intervals if nothing was keeping track of it for me. I’ve had this Garmin for two months and I’ve already turned into one of those people!

So I just trotted home at an easy pace. It might have been enjoyable if not for the rain pouring into my eyes, which, by the way, never let up. Somewhere around mile 5, I decided to pick it up again, and I think I ran about the next mile near goal pace again. But who really knows?

I was soaking wet and pissed at my technology fail by the end of the run, but I did get in 7.3 miles, so that was something.

And with that, April is over, so it’s time for my summary:

Mileage:

  • Week 1 (April 1-6): 24.4 miles
  • Week 2 (April 7-13): 37.9
  • Week 3 (April 14-20): 47.6
  • Week 4 (April 21-27): 39.8
  • Week 5 (April 28-30): 15.8

Total: 165.5 miles

It turned out to be a decent mileage month, even with all the workout juggling (and skipping) I did. I only ran one race, the Seashore Classic Half Marathon on April 14 in Lewes that I used as a training run, so it wasn’t a very exciting month in terms of racing.

I’ve got two races coming up in May, the St. Michaels half marathon on May 18 and the Masser 5-Miler on May 26. I’d really like to PR in both. I think it’s definitely doable.

It’s probably going to start getting warm by the end of this month too. I can’t wait to start complaining about the humidity again! It seems like just yesterday I was complaining about the cold.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

