A Simple Running Log

April 8, 2013

Training for 4/8/13

Filed under: Uncategorized — aschmid3 @ 5:11 pm

I got in all my runs since last Friday. Not necessarily in the order I intended, but I got them done.

Friday night, I didn’t do any strength training like I’d planned. When Clark got home from work, we decided to go to Salisbury to look for Orioles shirts to wear to the game the next day. By the time we got home from Salisbury, I just wanted to eat dinner and go to bed, which is what I did.

Saturday morning, I got up in plenty of time to meet Kara at Tuckahoe State Park for a trail run. I had promised her we wouldn’t get lost, like the last time we ran trails together at Trap Pond.

Naturally, less than a mile into the run, we wound up in this meadow I’d never seen before, where a random woman — the only other person we’d seen since we got to the park — asked us if we were running the 5K.

The state park is connected to Adkins Arboretum by those trails, and I knew the arboretum held a 5K every April, but I thought it was later in the month. We explained we weren’t part of the race, and went on our way. About another half-mile later, we ran into the race course, where another volunteer gave us a weird look as we approached from a direction that was not part of the race.

We turned around that time, and after we ran through the meadow again, I found the wrong turn I’d made. We got back on the right trail, but soon we had run into the race course yet again. That time we decided to just give up and head back toward the state park.

So, I lied about the not getting lost thing. I don’t understand why I’m so terrible on trails. I usually have a pretty decent sense of direction when I’m driving, but trails give me the worst time.

When we got back to the state park, we followed the trail in the other direction, which took us to that playground with the giant slide. After we both went down the slide, we headed back to the park for the final time, finishing off about 4.1 miles.

It was nice, easy run. One of these days we’re going to do a trail run and not get lost.

We stopped at Dunkin’ Donuts for coffee, and then I went home to get cleaned up for the baseball game.

The game didn’t start until 7 p.m., but we met Ben and Hope at 2 p.m. for the 90-minute drive to Baltimore. As soon as we pulled up in their yard, Ben gave Clark and me a couple of beers. He said he didn’t like them, so he thought we might, haha. (We’re the weirdos who like strong beer.) It was a barleywine, 11.5 percent ABV. So Clark and I started off with those. They weren’t bad.

Then we got into the growler full of Dogfish Head 60 Minute IPA we’d gotten last week for our birthdays. After the barleywine, the IPA tasted downright light. There might have been one swig left for Ben when we got the car parked, but other than that, Clark and I polished it off.

Oh, and on the way to Baltimore, this happened:

GTR

It’s a crappy shot, but that’s a Nissan GT-R.

We had the car parked with a good three or four hours left until game time, so we went to Pickles Pub right across the street from the ballpark. I was feeling pretty good after all that strong beer on the ride up. The stuff we were drinking at Pickles wasn’t nearly as heavy, but it was adding up. I think we were all a little lit by the time we were ready to leave Pickles.

Hope and me.

Hope and me.

Ben and Clark.

Ben and Clark.

We got to our seats in time for the beginning of the game. Our seats were pretty good (or so I was told; I don’t really know what’s considered a good seat at a baseball game):

o's game 4-6-13

For the first time in my life, I stayed for an entire baseball game. There was a part in the middle when Clark and I wandered around the stadium for a while. I was sure when we got back to our seats the game must have been nearly over. Then I found out they were still only in the fifth inning. Sigh. In the end, the O’s wound up losing to the Twins.

o's game 4-6-13 2

Clark, Hope and Ben watching what ended up being the last out to end the game.

I slept a lot of the way back to Ben and Hope’s. I think it was around 1 a.m. when we got back to our house.

Sunday, I felt like crap. I haven’t cooked up a hangover like that in a long time! I was really wishing I’d done my long run Saturday morning.

It was nearly 11 a.m. when I finally got out of bed and ate some breakfast. Then I laid down again. Before I knew it, the race was on. So I had to watch the whole thing, of course. It was about 5:30 p.m. when all the post-race coverage was over and I was out of excuses.

I decided I was just going to do the short easy run I would normally have done today, and save the long run for this morning before work.

Yesterday was really nice, except for the wind. It was really gusting by the time I finally went out to run. I just did an easy 3-miler.

This morning, I felt pretty good when I woke up, probably due to the fact I didn’t drink beer for eight hours straight the day before. I ate some breakfast and then headed out for a lap around my 13.2-mile loop.

It was a near perfect morning for a run, warm enough for shorts and a light long-sleeved warm weather top I just got for my birthday. The wind was a little on the annoying side, though. I wore my new Zeroes for the second time.

It turned out to be another great long run. I was supposed to run for an hour and 45 minutes. I did the 13.2-mile loop in 1:45:22, a 7:59/mile average. It was just one of those runs where I felt like I could have kept going all day. I’m really glad I put it off yesterday. I don’t think it would have gone nearly as well, haha.

I’m still supposed to do some strength training tonight. Other than that, I’m pretty much on track as far as the training schedule goes.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

