A Simple Running Log

April 3, 2013

Training for 4/3/13

Filed under: Uncategorized — aschmid3 @ 5:37 pm

This morning, I finally did the interval workout I put off all day yesterday, which turned into a rest day. I got caught up doing actual work in the afternoon, and before I knew it, it was too late to get in my run before my evening meeting.

Since I didn’t have any actual scheduled assignments today, just a ton of writing to do, I took the time to drive in town and run on the track.

It looked like track season was in full swing at the high school; the port-o-potty that had been around for fall sports but disappeared over the winter was back, and there were hurdles all the way down the front stretch in the third and fourth lanes.

Today felt like January again. There was frost on the ground, and I had to wear full length tights, gloves and a beanie. It is freaking April. This sucks.

I was also wearing my 1600s. I got so sick of the 890s, I dug out the shoes I haven’t worn since Twin Cities last October, the ones with Bobby Labonte’s autographs on the toeboxes. The right one still has the timing chip from that race. My feet hurt so bad at the end of that marathon I never wanted to wear them again, but I was only doing 7 miles today, so I thought I’d give them another shot.

As I started my easy mile to warm up, I saw a girl in wind pants and a sweatshirt walking in the outside lanes on the front stretch toward me, so I said good morning to her as I passed. This is quite a reach for me, so I was a little miffed when she just stared at me in response. For the next few miles of my workout, she just wandered back and forth along the front stretch, sometimes moseying up into the bleachers. I thought she was maybe waiting to meet someone, but no one else showed up before she finally wandered away. Weird.

Anyway, I had eight 400-meter repeats at 5K pace on the schedule. I was aiming for 1:40 per repeat.

It felt really good to run fast again as I took off for the first repeat, and I finished it in exactly 1:40. Usually my first repeat is slow, so that was a nice surprise.

I did a lap easy to recover, and then ran the second repeat — 1:38, and it felt just as smooth.

The repeats just kept getting faster. The next four were 1:38 again, then 1:37, 1:36 and 1:35. I wasn’t sure I could keep up that trend for the last two though.

But I did! No. 7 was 1:33, and I pulled out a 1:30 on the last one. I think that might be my fastest 400-meter repeat ever.

I was really pleased with myself. I was also pleased with the 1600s. They totally redeemed themselves. Maybe I’ll try them out in some shorter races this summer.

During the last couple of repeats, several more people had shown up at the track. Some of them were wearing jackets that said Seaford Athletics on the back, so it looked like they were maybe part of the track team, but I don’t know why they’d be out there at that time of day.

Except for a few who ran a couple of easy laps around the track (including one kid who did all the hurdles but tripped on the last one and nearly faceplanted), these “athletes” weren’t doing much more than hanging out around the opening in the fence to get on the track. The whole time I was running my 2-mile cool down, they all just stood there. By the time I’d finished those last couple of miles, they had moved over to a corner of the track and were finally doing some group stretches or something.

It was bugging the hell out of me for some reason. Between them and the weird girl walking back and forth, I’d had about enough of the other people who use that track.

Anyway, tonight, Clark’s parents are having us over for dinner to celebrate my birthday. I think I might finally get a new pair of Zeroes!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

