A Simple Running Log

March 14, 2013

Training for 3/14/13

Filed under: Uncategorized — aschmid3 @ 5:11 pm

Today was a rest day. I just did some yoga and foam rolling, and was happy about it too. It was freezing cold and windy out there this morning. At least it looked like it was, from the comfort of my living room couch.

This is my last post before Shamrock! I’m off tomorrow and Monday, so I won’t be around to report how it all went until after my Tuesday morning meeting.

Right now, everything is looking good except the weather. The last time I checked, it was supposed to be mostly sunny Saturday and Sunday. When I looked this morning, it had gotten a little ugly all of a sudden. Saturday now has a forecast for isolated thunderstorms and a 50 percent chance of rain, and they’re calling for a few showers Sunday, with a 30 percent chance of rain.

Oh well. The temperatures look OK, in the mid-40s both mornings, and if it does rain, I just get wet and then I forget about it. The wind isn’t supposed to be too bad either, and I’m good at tucking in behind other people and letting them block it for me anyway, haha.

Kara and I are driving down to Virginia Beach tomorrow afternoon, stopping at the expo first to pick up our race packets. The whole group is meeting tomorrow evening for happy hour at a pub, and then we’re staying in a hotel near the oceanfront in Virginia Beach.

Saturday morning is the first leg of the Whale Challenge, the TowneBank 8K. I put a conservative 42:00 (8:24ish a mile pace) on my registration, but that still landed me in the first corral. My friend MJ is also in that corral (she’s doing the Dolphin Challenge, which means she’s doing the half Sunday) so we’re going to run it together.

After we all hang out on the beach and enjoy the two free Yuenglings that go to the 8K finishers, we have to check out of the hotel. The whole group rented this big beach house right on the ocean in Sandbridge, just south of Virginia Beach, but when my friend Jen made the arrangements, she accidentally booked it for Saturday through Monday night, instead of Friday through Sunday, and it’d already been rented out for Friday night before she realized the mistake. Hence the hotel Friday night. Not a big deal, but she felt pretty awful, so she insisted on paying for the hotel rooms herself.

Anyway, between checking out of the hotel and checking into the beach house, Kara and I are going to meet up with our cousin Jenny, who lives in the area. Saturday evening, after we’ve all settled into the house, we’re doing a giant pasta dinner for the whole group.

And then Sunday is, of course, the Shamrock Marathon. The marathon doesn’t start until 8:30 a.m., but the half starts at 7 a.m. (The half is run on the second half of the marathon course, so they start it so much earlier to try to keep the marathon leaders from having to weave through too many of the half marathoners.) I’d like to see Kara off for her first half marathon, so I’ll be heading there early. I don’t know what I’ll do to kill 90 minutes before my race starts, but I’ll think of something.

I can’t wait to get this marathon started! I know I’ve been feeling confident in my training, but the closer I get to race day and the further I get from my last long run, the more nervous I get. I keep reminding myself all the nerves will go away as soon as I get to start running Sunday, but it’s impossible not to get a little antsy anyway.

The plan is to just run with the 3:30 pace group and let them do all the work for me. I’ll probably carry one gel with me, for about mile 7ish, but they’re handing out gels at the halfway point and mile 19, so I’ll just take theirs. Other than that, just water at the aid stations, and maybe a shot of beer or two from the spectators who hand them out in the second half.

My goals are as follows:

  • A: 3:29:59
  • B: 3:35:00 (Boston qualifying time)
  • C: 3:42:27 (PR)
  • D: Make it to the Yuengling kegs

When it’s over, I will of course partake in my four allotted Yuenglings at the finish line, and then who knows how the rest of Sunday will go. It’ll be fun though, I’m sure of that. Kara and I will head back home sometime Monday.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

