A Simple Running Log

March 13, 2013

Training for 3/13/13

Filed under: Uncategorized — aschmid3 @ 4:31 pm

As of now, I am totally finished with training for Shamrock. Tomorrow and Friday are rest days, before taking on the Whale Challenge this weekend. I’m so excited it’s here!

Yesterday, I went to Tuckahoe State Park after work for my last little speed workout, four 400-meter repeats. It didn’t take too long to program the Garmin to measure out quarter-miles for me, which are a tiny bit longer than a lap on a standard 400-meter track. I also programmed it to measure out quarter-miles of recovery in between each.

I did a mile easy to warm up, and then hit the ‘lap’ button to start the first interval.

The trails were soggy, even muddy in some spots, after all the rain we had yesterday, and of course a trail is harder to run fast on than a flat, even track anyway. I did all four repeats and four recoveries, and then I did two more miles easy to cool down.

The Garmin showed I ran just a hair over 5 miles in 45 minutes on the nose, an 8:56/mile overall pace. It also had each quarter-mile repeat separated out for me — I ran those in 1:52, 1:49, 1:45 and 1:42. It was weird trying to do speedwork on a muddy trail, but I enjoyed it. This was also another workout where I really appreciated having the Garmin.

And by the way, when I got home, the utility room floor was suspiciously spotless, and the air smelled faintly of Mr. Clean and dog poop. Guess who’d taken an explosive dump in there while we were at work yesterday, in spite of all my efforts to get him to go outside in the rain that morning? Clark was the first one home and had it cleaned up (including what Pepper had managed to blast on his own hind legs) before I got there, but I was still pissed. We shouldn’t have to clean up dog poop every day it rains!

This morning, I did my final run, an easy 3-miler on the road. After breakfast, Pepper and I went upstairs, and I did ab exercises, push-ups, invisible chair-sitting and weights, and then I went back downstairs for some barefoot exercises and stretching.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

