A Simple Running Log

March 6, 2013

Training for 3/6/13

Filed under: Uncategorized — aschmid3 @ 5:00 pm

There’s a big difference between an easy 4-miler in the second week of an 18-week marathon training plan, and one in the 17th week.

Two weeks in, every run on the schedule feels very important, like a key piece of the puzzle, as you’re building up your endurance for both speed and distance. But when you’re only 11 days away from the race, all the big miles and the hard work are behind you, and you know there’s nothing you can do at this point to improve your race.

Which is why, when I woke up this morning and heard the sheets of raining pounding against our house, I did not leap out of bed, get dressed and bravely get in my miles, weather be damned! I pulled the covers back over my head, snuggled up to Pepper and said screw it.

I wasn’t completely lazy — after breakfast, Pepper and I went upstairs, and I did some proper weight training for the first time in a while. I don’t know if I’m getting used to the cold or if wasn’t that bad upstairs today, but I was pretty comfortable in the attic for once. Plus, Clark replaced the burned-out bulb, so having light helped too.

I did a lot of stretching downstairs, and then I put on Clark’s enormous raincoat and made Pepper go outside. Because of the pouring rain, he hadn’t gone out after his breakfast to poop, so I stood out there in the back yard with him until he did. Now no one will have to scrub the utility room floor after work tonight.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

